We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the health rating”
Review of Grand Buffet - CLOSED

Grand Buffet
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Mobile, AL
1 review
“Check the health rating”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was one of my favorite chinese restaurants. Then, I saw their health department ratings. Out of 100 points, they scored a 66 in Dec. 2012 and a 67 in Jan 2013. Most local restaurants score in the 90s. Personally, I don't eat at restaurants that score less than 85. There could be an unusual situation that causes a low rating one time. But, twice in a row?!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy_in_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
149 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average Chinese food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I don't eat Chinese often, but I do eat it enough to recognize the quality of the food. It was not a bad experience at all. But the food was average at best. Shrimp were over cooked & lacked flavor, chicken dishes were ok. Fried rice was a little undercooked. The service was very good & I will go back again later, because of the 2 trips I have made, one was ok & one was not quite as good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Chris_Outside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula
Level Contributor
173 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, bad choice for kids”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Not a good place to take kids. they can't appreciate the great Chinese cuisine. They would rather McDonald's which is where we ended up for them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This restaurant has lots of seating, a huge buffet that includes about anything Chinese you might wish to eat and also has a sushi bar. I especially like their soups and eggrolls - - - and the soft icecream bar is a nice touch for dessert, along with lots of pastries. You'll like it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice and reasonable”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice selection on buffet; fresh and hot. Staff was pleasant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank you-average-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing