We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, convenient location...expected better from this property.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Daphne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Daphne
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Daphne
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent, convenient location...expected better from this property.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Veteran CI&S customer. Researched this property thoroughly. It is a newer property, so I expected more, but got less. Let me say first that the location could not be more convenient, right off I-10 with a great shopping area and all of the restaurants you could need right across the street. Room was clean and updated. But we could not figure out why we were having trouble getting that wonderful Gulf humidity out of our room. Seems the HVAC unit was coming out of the wall completely. We notified the front desk but no rooms were available to switch to (at least that is what we were told, I did not believe that to be true.) We ended up stuffing towels in the crevice to keep the heat (and eventually, the cold) out of the room. Our room was also missing the hotel safety latch lock. Told front desk of this, but because we were a weekend stay, apparently no one could fix this either. Worst of all, the WiFi did not work during any of our three days there. I asked over and over again what the problem was, the front desk could only offer that "perhaps the weather" had something to do with it. When I complained again upon checkout, the desk associate told me that the owner of the hotel will not upgrade the hotel WiFi and that all guests complain about it. For me, it was a real problem, as I am a teacher and had to upload report card information by a certain date and could not because this hotel, which claims to have free WiFi, did not have any at all for the first two days of our stay, and an extremely poor and weak signal on the last day. I attempted to use the business center on the final day so I could get my grades input and was met by a sign saying that the business center was closed. Nice! The breakfast area was always chaotic. We opted to go to Chick Fil A across the street for breakfast each day instead. I definitely expect more from the CI&S properties when it comes to breakfast. The lobby floors and elevator area had a sticky liquid present during our entire stay. Not once was it cleaned. Attemped a load of laundry, and was presented with a foul, musty odor in the washing machine. Given the relatively young age of this property, it should have much more going for it than just location. I wrote Carlson to let them know how disappointed I was in this property, so hopefully they will get the owner to make some repairs and, at the very least, get that WiFi fixed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
19
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is going to be a bad review. After about 11 hrs of driving we were lucky enough to find a vacancy here. The young guy at the desk was friendly and we got to our room on the first floor quickly. However, our room wasn't ever cleaned that day apparently. Yup, given a dirty room. Thank God actually because right across the hall there were about 12 teenagers sharing a single room. They were playing loud music and running up and down the hallway at 11:30 at night. The clerk moved us to a clean room on the second floor and it was an uneventful nights sleep from there. We won't be back. They're under staffed and breakfast was a nightmare. The ladies serving breakfast had their door propped open and were playing loud music and talking VERY loud in the serving area. They weren't working all that hard because everything was cold and in a huge mess. Mostly, they were just standing around talking and everyone kept having to say excuse me to get to the food. It's not a dump but not worth $100 either. Find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Move on down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveNmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Daphne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are very sorry about your experience at our location. We will be sure to use your feedback to fine tune our operations and make sure that they are not issues going forward. We are so sorry for your experience and hope that you will give us another chance to show you our great hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our favorite stop on our way to Austin. Wonderful, courteous helpful staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Comfy beds. Good breakfast with many choices. They will even provide a togo bag with a snack fruit and bottle of water, What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: So far, all our rooms have been quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2traveltoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Fast 60 second check in. Parked near my 2nd floor room. Room was large, clean and comfortable and very simple. Felt private and safe. No extra design or fancy room features. Bathroom was large and clean with lots of hot water. Morning breakfast was worth the over night cost by itself for two people. I had great omelet and made myself a fresh waffle (it was fun). Very friendly young staff seem to actually know what they are doing. I will stay at Country Inn again if available.

Room Tip: Three separate curtains for complete black out if desired. Soft mattress but new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A lobby complete with cozy reading area/lending library and a dining room where complimentary breakfast is served beginning at 6 a.m. - what's NOT to like about the Country Inn & Suites of Daphne? The pleasant and super helpful Annette, in charge at the front desk, offered us fresh-baked cookies AND instructions to the best pizza place around, which turned out to be located in the Eastern Shore Shopping Center and a maze of outlet stores just across the highway. But first, to our room - we had a King equipped with fridge, microwave, flat-screen TV, plush bed, generously sized desk, fast wireless internet connection (unsecured) and very attractive decor. I liked the stash of herbal teas to go with the in-room and lobby coffee set-ups. Not a bad deal for about $80; we have stayed at some more expensive places that were not nearly this nice. It was a bit chilly to venture into the outdoor pool and hot tub, at the rear of the building, near the fitness facility, but when the weather is warmer we would definitely take the plunge. In the meantime, the room's heating and air-cooling system was very responsive, yielding that "just right" temp adjustment. Overall this is a well-maintained facility with a friendly staff.
The nearest restaurant is a McDonald's a short jaunt away a couple of buildings to the north. The nearby shopping centers across the highway feature numerous chains (from Cracker Barrel to California Dreamin') along with a Publix Grocery Store, a movie theater multiplex and a bowling alley. We had a divinely tasty pizza at La Rosso, in the 700 block of the outlet plaza.

Room Tip: We didn't mind being on the third floor - there's an elevator and luggage carts - and from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pleasantly surprised at the size & amenities of the room. Had 2 queen, equipped with fridge & microwave. Nice decor. Bathroom had lots of counter space but poor lighting as most hotel bathrooms have. Shower head not adjustable and water kind of "sprinkled" out. But overall, a nice room at a great price on Priceline-$49 plus fees!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I live in Toronto Canada and i took my family to Fairhope Alabama, and we wanted hotel near by. we got the deal on hotwire and base on some of the negative comment some people gave i was almost changed my mind, but thank God and my wife i did not, it turned out to be a very great hotel. from front of the house staff to the breakfast staff they are great and professional. ( ms Lampkin and ms Anderson did really well and my family are very greatful for their service from August the 13-15. i love it!!) the room is very clean and the breakfast is perfect for the money. the location of the hotel is very close to a mail. once again thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Femi140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daphne
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Daphne Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Daphne
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Daphne-Spanish Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Daphne
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Daphne/Mobile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Daphne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Daphne

Property: Country Inn & Suites Daphne
Address: 29793 Woodrow Lane, Daphne, AL 36526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Daphne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Daphne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Daphne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Daphne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing