We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cullman
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely historic train depot

My husband and I have always enjoyed train rides, historic trains and historic depots. There is a... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2019
Jenny W
,
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Fine visit for a History Buff

the museum I clean and well kept. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. I was not to busy and... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2019
F2Roam
,
Cullman, Alabama
Read all 34 reviews
  
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
19
12
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of history knowledge oktoberfest exhibits display visitors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 34 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2017

We were in the area for family history and visited the museum. They were very helpful to give history before entering the museum and when they knew we were there for family history, they went out of their way to be helpful. it is small, but have great artifacts.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Dori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullmanMuseum, Staff at Cullman County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

Dori B,
Thank you for taking the time to stop in and visit our museum! We appreciate the nice comments too.
See you next time you travel south!~ Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

If you are in the area, give this museum a look see. Drew was our host on this day, and he was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable about all of the curations and history of Cullman. Very inexpensive and the also sell some pretty neat items in the gift area. Also, they offer a AAA discount on the already low admission price.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank N8Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreen2016, docent at Cullman County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Enjoyed your visit and hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

We visited the CC Museum during Octoberfest this past year. I was really looking forward to it because I absolutely love museums, and I felt like it would be a great experience for our children since we homeschool. The museum and artifacts in the museum are interesting, but I couldn't pay much attention. My children were wanting to look at everything and would quickly move from room to room. We got the stank eye a few times, and when my daughters got a little loud...well, it was made clear to us that they weren't happy with us. There were a few items out that could be touched, but when my children tried to touch them, we were asked not to do that. I may sound like my children were being wild, but they truly weren't. There were several families that I saw leave pretty immediately that day, and after talking to a few...they had the same experience. So, I will definitely go back one day when I am alone. However, I will not take my children until they are at least teenagers. I can't say I blame the staff for not being welcoming to the families because it is a museum. However, it was clear that children weren't wanted...at least not during Octoberfest.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreen2016, docent at Cullman County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

We appreciate you sharing your experience at the Cullman County Museum. We are sorry it was not a more positive one. We do welcome children and have several interactive exhibits like the arrowhead rubbing table and music in the parlor room. While the week of Oktoberfest is extra busy for us we do anticipate that and have extra docents for the many children and school groups that visit. We have music on the porch, high school students in most of our rooms dressed in period costumes and activities and entertainment for children in our back parking lot including "Freddy The Fire Truck". As we are all subject to a "bad day" we hope you will give us another chance as most days are "good" here and we really do enjoy having children visit and love sharing our towns unique history with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Beautiful to look at, go through museum, have special events in the basement, great phtos can be taken of some German heritage items..

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreen2016, docent at Cullman County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope you will tell your friends and family as a non-profit we don't have a lot of extra money for advertising... and come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

They have a Civil War exhibit, Native Heritage room,a music room, and a main street exhibit where you can look at items from the 1800's. The second floor of the Museum contains a natural history room with wildlife native to this area.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank 130marlenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreen2016, docent at Cullman County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Thank you for taking time to mention your visit to the Museum we hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews