We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crane Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Crane Hill B&B and Inns
Cullman, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hated to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at AnchorLight. It was more beautiful that the pictures show, and the experience was beyond wonderful. From the moment we got there until the time we left, it was amazing. We got to take a tour on the lake in the tug boat Maggie, and while there we renewed and recommitted our lives to each other. The weather was perfect - and July in Alabama that can't be said a lot - so we feel the Heavens were smiling down on us. We can't wait to go back, and according to my husband, now AnchorLight is "our place." I couldn't ask for more. If you have the opportunity to visit, you won't regret it.

Renee Hilburn

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I went to the bed and breakfast with my best friend. We were looking for something affordable and relaxing and this was the perfect place. Gorgeous views, lots of fun activities, nice area for swimming, and absolutely perfect for rest and relaxation. Maggie and Captain Jon make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sraustin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We went to the Anchorlight for our 5th anniversary.Some friends of ours told us about it. They made it sounds like so much fun I told my husband thats what I wanted to do for our anniversary. We had a gret time. Very relaxing. Maggie and Captain John we the best hosts!! Maggie's attention to the little things made our stay that much better. The tub boat ride was a lot of fun. When we told our kids about they all instantly said "we wanna go". Hope to be able to take them sometime. We loved our stay and hope to get to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

It was my Husbands Birthday. I wanted a truly Unique Gift for him. We frequent antique shops and as we were checking out I found a card for the AnchoLlight B&B. I looked at the website and was enchanted!!! So I called and spoke with Maggie and made plans for a surprise weekend for my husband who by the way LOVES light houses. Hubby only knew we were going and nothing else. Imagine his surprise as we approached this awesome building. The Top Room is delightful...the bathroom built just as on a boat was so awesome! And my oh my what an awesome set of meals we were fed. In addition Maggie went overboard on making the room as well at the top light room decorated with birthday items. And eating meals in the top light room with the wondrous view was marvelous! We had a wee cookout the first night on the lower grassy area. The next day we were off in a paddle boat to view Smith Lake with a picnic lunch. And of course a ride on Maggie the Tug Boat...what a way to spend the weekend! Maggie and Captain John are the Most Gracious B&B Hosts ever!!! Maggie also made us a lovely wee scrapbook with pics she took of us enjoying our time there...how precious!!!
We have been to many a B&B but this one by far is one NOT to miss!!!!

Room Tip: There are several rooms that were almost completed when we were there but the top room is by far sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La Belle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I were lighthouse collectors and B&B "groupies" so imagine our excitement at finding this wonderful place. Sleeping in the lighthouse,reading and enjoying snacks as well as delicious evening desserts at the top of the lighthouse,chugging around the lake in the delightful refurbished tugboat,and eating fabulous breakfasts were only a few of the highlights of our visit.
Getting to know the fascinating innkeepers,Maggie and Jon, perhaps topped the list. This beautiful couple has a very special place in my heart. My husband has passed away,but the adventure of our time here will always be a very special memory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyFKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I took my wife for her birthday because she loves Lighthouses and I wanted to surprise her. I didn't tell her what we were doing except that it was something she had never done. As we drove to Anchor Light she could see by the signs that we were staying somewhere on a lake but she had no idea that a Lighthouse was soon to appear. There was an instant connection with Maggie and Jon (Tug) as they are great hosts. I had forgotten about the getting the ride around the lake and just as my wife says it would be cool to ride in the boat, Jon come up to us and said "When do you want to take a boat ride"? We unpacked then off we hit the water, Smith Lake is a great lake to cruise especially in a tugboat. We've been on many large cruise ships but this vessel had a charm that we will never forget. If you like Lighthouses, great views and being around water this would be a great experience for anyone, also we could not have asked for better hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNPitbull1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I spent our first anniversary at the lighthouse. We enjoyed the attention to detail from Jon and Maggie, from the ride on the tugboat around the lake to the surprise desserts at our door later that evening. And breakfast at the top of the lighthouse was perfect. Very romantic -- and a fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Only one room when we stayed there, but they were working on a second, larger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crane Hill
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairwinds Inn
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cullman
Hampton Inn Cullman
#1 of 10 in Cullman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hidden Cove RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast

Property: AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast
Address: 251 County Road 881, Crane Hill, AL 35053-3529
Location: United States > Alabama > Crane Hill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crane Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorlight Christian Bed and Breakfast is a 53' lighthouse on beautiful Smith Lake in North Alabama. We may possibly be the only place where you actually get to stay in the lighthouse! Children are welcome, but we specialize in romance! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing