We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveler rating
53
95
97
36
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
53
95
97
36
26
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 307 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Contrary to what is announced, the hotel does not have a fitness room working, and for a long time. The apparatuses (few and old) are unusable and are not intended to be fixed. To make matters worse, the staff at the hotel keeps lying and making childish excuses each time for the fitness room to be closed at each particular time, so it looks like it's functional - such as saying that "someone is doing a restoration there but will be over right away" (it wasn't, it was just locked), say the closing times wrong and other nonsense. I demanded, they opened it for me, I went in there and took pictures. It seems the management is telling them to lie to guests, which they don't do very well. In fact, management also removed the shampoo (!) off the room bathrooms (not available anymore!) and water from the fridge, this last one now only available on request. Bizarre.

Room tip: Rooms are ok, although bed mattresses are really hard and hurts the back. Room in front of the river have a nice new.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaelSabbagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location, quality and price were very good. I was a bit worried after reading all the negative reviews which complained about the condition of the building. I would say you wouldn´t notice the problems unless you try to look hard for them. I did spend some time exploring the hotel and yes some of the upper floors are in pretty bad state (they are closed). The floors open to the public are good.

The hotel is located close to the city center, close to all the historic attractions. Unless your goal is the Boa Viagem beach, I think this is the best location possible in Recife. The location seems safe and there are a lot of people in the area around the hotel until very late.

Service was good, people were very friendly.

The breakfast was very good. By far better than any hotel-breakfast in the States. Maybe that is a norm in Brazil, I don´t know. Breakfast hours are very convenient too (from 6 to 10). The breakfast had a good selection of hot meals, fruits and also typical breakfast items.

Few problems I have encountered: I have never figured out how to get the hot water in the shower, though it didn´t bother me at all, the water is never really cold in this part of Brazil. The staff did not speak English, though everybody was willing to help.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank vanyagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

From this hotel you can walk to everywhere in Recife Antigua, the Casa da Cultura, the 13 de Mayo Park and a great mall in Boa Vista. The hotel staff is friendly, as is everyone in Brazil. The rooms are comfortable. The AC and WiFi worked perfectly. I could not figure out the hot water even after it was explained to me at check-in. Make sure you get the staff to demonstrate the hot water with proof that it is working ( it comes out of the shower). I am sure they would be happy to do so. The breakfast is pretty typical cafe da manana (spelling) for Brazil. I had no trouble getting a taxi to the airport at 4AM. If you are staying here to visit Recife Antigua, go during the middle of the week, lots of things are closed on Sunday and Monday. I would definitely stay here again instead of Boa Viagem or some tourist beach area of Recife. The hotel and the area have a lot more character, Boa Viagem could be any beach city in the world. Recife Plaza Hotel is a view of the real Recife.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajorPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I don't quite agree with the very negative reviews on this hotel. Everything in this old and shabby hotel is cranky, but a few things compensate: it is very clean, located near city centre (in a city with terrible traffic this can save you a hour in the peak hour), It has a good wifi system, an excellent breakfast, and a small swimming poor with a fantastic view in the top floor. It may have been a good hotel in the past. Today it badly needs maintenance... And they are doing it, but starting by the most urgent. Shower didn't work one day, I reported it and was fixed that same day. I've stayed in better hotels where things simply don't get fixed. Location: near city centre but not a place to walk at night and very few restaurants in the area. Conclusion: this is definitely not a hotel to stay for tourism, but if you only go to sleep and do business, I would recommend it and I would go back. Recife doesn't have too many good options in hotels, unless you go to Olinda or Boa Viagem, so all things considered this is probably a good choice. Value for money.

Room tip: See room and check everything before you settle down in a room!!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georginamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nigths at 145 Reias per night (regular double bed room) - booked on internet via booking.com and much fairer price than the prices anounced in the reception of the hotel

Recife Plaza Hotel must once have been a hotel with real grandeur. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is a restaurant, polyvalent rooms and a tennis court and swimming pool on the roof. But like most buildings in the old center of recife the hotel sadly lost its grandeur. The outside of the building as well as the swimming and tennis faciities suffer from old age and are not inviting at all, the rooms begging for restauration.

Nevertheless, the hotel and its rooms were very clean and the staff very friendly and helpfull. In addition the hotel has a unique location: it is one of the only hotels (we could find) near the old city center. Therefore we found this hotel charming and a good value for money.

Other positive points: good view over old recife from the rooftop, non-noisy air-conditioning, free car-parking.
Negative: very few restaurants in the direct neighbourhood, located in a poorer (although not threathening) neighbourhood

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greet2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews