We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Tio Pepe Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 5,587 Restaurants in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We specialize in good old homey Brazilian food plus exquisite dishes born from our undying creativity. All meat, fish and poultry dishes are made on the spot, most of them on the grill, over traditional coal. Our portions are so generous that only Pantagruel would be able to eat one of our meals all by himself. Tio Pepe's facilities are cozy and stunningly decorated. You will love our tropical patio and indoor space full of charm. A successful history The restaurant was founded in the 1964 by an immigrant from Galicia, Spain: José Garrido Cid, nicknamed Pepe. Before he died, Pepe passed the baton to one of his Brazilian daughters, Mirtes, who has modernized the business and consolidated Tio Pepe's reputation as a place where you eat well and feel good. For forty years, in spite of Brazil's economic hardships, Tio Pepe has managed to keep a steady flow of old faithful customers. New ones continue to pour from all over the country as well as from abroad. Our secret is: we love what we do and we do it right. Open Tuesday through Saturday: 11h30 a.m. to 11h30 p.m. On Sundays: 11h30 a.m. to 4h30 p.m. Credit Card: American Express
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Everytime I'm in Recife I eat a few times in Tio Pepe. Great food and the service always superb. Eating outside enjoying the decoration is such a nice experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Marcos_Kosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardoa5362, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tio Pepe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for your rating Mr. Marcos Kosma. It's good to hear that you visited us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely restaurant. Open for over 50 years, it has a familial feel to it and the staff are really friendly.

The setting is a house and garden in the residential area of Setúbal - with decorations hanging from the trees, made out of pans. At this time of year, they are made into Santa Clauses.

The food is amazing: try the Carne de Sol or the Filet de Trifasico and the sides are lovely too - the cassava chips won't be familiar to non-Brazilians but are pretty tasty.

It's a must to visit: so different to other places in their less interesting surroundings.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank jennieb905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

Tio Pepe has been around for at least 30 years in my home town of Recife, and yet its quality is always excellent. Famous for its meat and " churrasco" dishes, it offers good food at reasonable prices. Always s good place to have a Sunday meal with family or friends

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Inalda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

Effective service, saborous caipirinha, shrimp pastel , Dona Pepa fish surronded by a great and happy atmosphere.

Deserves a visit

btw fair price.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank yons130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016

That´s one of a kind regional restaurant to go in Recife.
Tha food is awesome, the place is beatiful, curious and fun.
The service is excelent, matching the food quality.
Indeed recommended.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rafael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tio Pepe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing