We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlante Plaza is only hotel I would stay in Recife Brazil!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlante Plaza
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Atlante Plaza is only hotel I would stay in Recife Brazil!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is really beautiful as you approach it. About 21 floors, all in Blue Glass windows, with panoramic elevators in the front. Located directly in front of the beach with beautiful reefs. Hotel has chairs and umbrellas on the beach for guests of the hotel. There is also a beautiful pool with snack bar on the top of the hotel, some of the most beautiful views of Recife and the Boa Viagem Beach. Great Breakfast buffet, probably one of the best and largest I have ever see, with lots of fruits, cook to order omelets, fresh squeezed fruit juices and great coffee. . Rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds and the AC works great. Reception people were very responsive with any needs or questions, and good English also. Has a great Spa and massage service. Bell staff and maids were very helpful, concierge available with city recommendations and also valet parking.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the corner suites that have large pitcher windows that look out on two sides towa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    729
    224
    75
    29
See reviews for
569
479
78
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A nice hotel when you just need a place to stay and maybe a breakfast. Really close to the airport and an ocean view, although not from the room. Amenities were nothing special. Plenty of food options for the breakfast buffet. Also, the staff seemed to have a good understanding of my gluten and dairy sensitivities and, even with my broken Portuguese, I was able to eat well enough.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the East side of the building. More likely to see the ocean from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlostroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
333 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This property is located in the world famous beach of Boa Viagem, but the rooms and service does not provide the quality you should expected. Very noisy air-conditioning in the rooms, a extremely long check in procedure, not enough staff to help guests and old decoration and furniture in the rooms. However the buffet style Breakfast is quite good, with lot of options, local goodies and fantastic tropical fruits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I checked in and found that there was no air conditioning - i called for engineering and when he arrived he told me to be patient and wait - i waited an hour and went to the front desk with my luggage and requested another room that would please have air conditioning - they did not have anymore rooms in my rate class - the manager was summoned and reluctantly i was give a suite - i was very grateful having an expected stay of 4 nights - to my dismay - the suite had the same situation - air conditioning is pushing air out but it is NOT even close to being cool. Very disappointing. The view from my suite is fantastic of the ocean and beach. The breakfast buffet is very nice. I am staying here during the beginning of May. Maybe in the winter season it might be more tolerable. There is excitement in the hotel as the power flickers and goes out regularly. Taking a shower in complete darkness is thrilling. Fortunately the electrical outages are always less than one minute. I get the impression that this hotel is very old and the owners chose to not spend the money for upkeep and reasonable maintenance - too bad. Don't believe I will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacayRUs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Hotel is very nice. I had an amazing experience from the check in till our check out. I stayed on 2nd floor in a suit and it was delightful....Congrat for all the staff for the outstanding service. Also I cant forget how nice was the dinner at Mirage restaurant...a real fine dining. My family and felt at home.

Room Tip: suite beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The more I travel through Brazil the more I realize that outside of Sao Paulo most hotels are not up to international standards. This property is old, rooms need new furniture, sheets, towels... you name it. Pool is old, gym is horrible. Still, the hotel is considered a five star (?) I would give it three at the most. It is my understanding that this is the best hotel in town so I guess one has to enjoy it for the fantastic location and friendly service which is about all it has going for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crewtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
184 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Location is fantastic - Boa Viagem beach. Breakfast is very good too (try Tapioca with Coalho cheese). And that`s all. Atlante is an old hotel that remains old. They say the hotel is a 5 stars, but actually it is a 3 stars. Nothing more.
Take the wonderful panoramic elevator to go up, but be prepare to be in a heat: there is no ar conditioner in elevators.And the sun is very strong.
The room, the room. Closets smells bad, as humidity. Bathroom is old style. A very poor towell and do not forget to bring your own shampoo and soap: amenities are very bad.
DO you want an Internet conection? Pay for it (US$ 5 daily). Do you want a small pizza? US$ 16. Do you want a small bottle os water? US$ 2,50. In any kiosk in front of the hotel you pay less than half.
If Atlante do not renew the rooms, for sure it will loose the tourists and business people in Recife.

Room Tip: Beware to close very, very well the black-out curtain. The sun rises at 4:30AM. And it is very stron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Recife hotels
Radisson Recife
#5 of 55 in Recife
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boa Viagem
Mar Hotel Conventions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlante Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlante Plaza

Property: Hotel Atlante Plaza
Address: Avenida Boa Viagem 5426, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51030-000, Brazil (Formerly Grand Mercure Recife Atlante Plaza)
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife > Boa Viagem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Recife
#1 Family Hotel in Recife
#1 Spa Hotel in Recife
#3 Business Hotel in Recife
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Recife
#3 Romantic Hotel in Recife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atlante Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atlante Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlante Plaza Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing