We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveler rating
438
673
262
42
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
673
262
42
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelstayed one nightocean viewwalking distancebeachtaxi
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2011

1 block from the beach. Nice lobby bar. Good accessibility over All except low toilet, high sink, not enough space between foot of the bed and wall.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recifehostess, General Manager at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Jonatas,

Thank you for the kind comment about our hotel.
We will be always trying to improve our facilities and services.

Regards,
Milda Matos Krüger
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The best western is a block away from the beaches. Value priced for the location but don't expect much comfort. It is a star three hotel (although they state four stars) with sub standard air conditioning (sputters cool air). My room overlooked the side street (no ocean view) which was full of clotheslines....not a pretty sight...even though I paid for a deluxe room. The rooms are nice, but the mattresses could use replacing...lots of play. Good service. Called for maintenance to enhance the air conditioning and fix the safety deposit box. They arrived in less than five minute, but unfortunately did not fix either one.. Also requested additional towels and had those in three minutes!! Front desk was congenial and courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrmarutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recifehostess, General Manager at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Mrmarutiak,

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at +55 81 30842811.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Milda Krüger
General Manager
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Although this seems a nice hotel, in a back street but near lots of restaurants, we did see only the lobby as our secured reservation - made bij TUI, one of the biggest touroperators in Europe with its own airline - got inadvertently and totally lost. The hotel was full and we had to wait two hours to get a transfer to Atlante Plaza, in fact a better hotel.
So: check and recheck!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanderva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recifehostess, General Manager at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

We thank you for the kind comments about our hotel. In fact the hotel is very well located, only one block far from the seafront of the Boa Viagem beach. Besides our location is plenty of many restaurants. Unfortunately you arrived at the hotel without reservation and so we could not accommodate you because we were fully booked on that date. We look forward to having you as our guest in a near future, so we will be able to offer our structure and services fully. The circumstances (waiting for a transfer to another hotel) did not allow a better judgment about our hotel.
Sincerely,
Milda Matos Kruger
General Manager
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The company I work for just recently started its operation in this part of Brazil so we were sending people over constantly for the past two months. We have tried more then a dozen hotels in Recife and I can say that they all follow the city standards: dirty and not well maintained. The Best Western is a good choice in comparison to the rest of the business hotels in Recife but I do have to warn you: the rooms are really small, the water smells really bad (bleach or something) and there is just too much noise in the streets, so you may want to ask for a room facing the back of the hotel. Apart from that, since the hotel is new, is one of the best we could find. As you may know, Recife is not a safe place to walk around and I must say that around this hotel is specially unsafe. You will be at the end of Boa Viagem beach, which is the beginning of the slum neighborhood. Be careful not to wonder around at night on your feet. Good place to eat: "Espetus" BBQ. Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonio-ASJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recifehostess, Gerente geral at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2010

With reference to the hotel size rooms, we would like to inform you that there are standard and luxury rooms. The last ones are very large with two double beds with a little amount added in its price. The standard rooms are about 15 m2 which is a very common size for the hotels like this, a Best Western international hotel chain with top quality assessment every year since the opening, 1994 . All room pictures can be seen at our web page as they realy are. It means that no surprise should be expected if the guests look at our home page. The hotel surrounding is a quite good area for living and shopping. Besides it is plenty of restaurants at walking distance. Nevertheless we like to advise our clients that some aditional care is adviseable for their personal belongings, as they should have take if they were in any big city, anywere in the world.
Indeed, there is no guest complaint about safe on going walking nearby for quite long time.
A very good water quality is provided to the guests. For your information, some guests may feel the chloride smell which is due to the quantity of chloride added to the water, request by the state regulation.

I am glad to understand that the remaining aspects of the guest stay were all right.


Sincerely,

Milda Matos Kruger
General Manager
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

There are very few hotels in Recife but we stayed at the Best Western close to Boa Viagem beach and it was a good choice, clean, well managed, good breakfast, roof top swimming pool and just a 5 minute walk from the beach and several good restaurants. Very little English is spoken so make sure you bring your Portugese phrase book. The beach is beautiful but it is not advisable to swim as there have been many shark incidents. The city centre is rough, noisy and poorly maintained but the Casa Cultura is worth a visit. The old city of Olinda is also worth a visit with interesting churches, architecture and shops selling local arts and crafts. I wouldn't advise hiring a car as the traffic is a bit chaotic and they drive very fast. Taxis are good but always ask what the fare will be before setting out on your journey. Buses are also reliable and worth getting to konw the system.The poor conditions some people live in are distressing and we saw several people sleeping rough and scavenging through bins and skips and you are never far from a slum 'favela'.

2  Thank ellenf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recifehostess, Manager at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for the TripAdvisor comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at +55 81 30842811.

Again, thanks for taking the time and I hope to receive you soon again.

Sincerely,

Milda Kruger
General Manager
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews