We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel except for the management staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Recife
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is nice, not very nice but nice. The a/c in the room was loud and difficult to control the breeze but not terrible. Some of the rooms on the higher floors had leaking windows so you can hear the breeze whistling in and if you're near the elevators, you can hear the motors kick in. The fridge is good and some rooms have microwaves. The hotel staff are very friendly but the supervisors are the grumpiest group that I've ever seen. It's very close to the beach and there're a lot of nice restaurants and a Carefour within walking distance. Same with ATMs. I stayed more than 2 months on business and it was absolutely fine. It definitely wasn't cheap. Would I stay here again? Probably but I'd look around, there're a lot of very nice hotels nearby and the prices may be better.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the elevators as possible and stay away from the floors above 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 892 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I liked this hotel a lot. Better service than an ibis I stayed in Brazil and ticked all the boxes for me. Clean good service and reasonable prices. Navagantes is beautiful well worth a visit. There is far more terrible places to stay. Ppl need to stop being to harsh sometimes.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good but keep your Windows locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirtes_Magalhaes, Gerente geral at Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Recife Navegantes. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Mirtes Magalhães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Despite earning an upgrade to their top room, the hotel is just way bellow expectation on the Accor standard. The masonry services done on the renewal were terrible, with drilled and broken tiles, weird faucet at almost a meter high from the sink, no hot water for shaving, no power plugs on the bedroom, noise comming from the AC (which was installed just outside the window, blocking the view).
This is a hotel approved as a FIFA World Cup place, although, dont expect a full quality here. Better stay at a Ibis or similar hotel by Accor, if that is of your preference.

Room Tip: Higher rooms might give you a view to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcontieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a recent business trip. During my stay, the hotel was without hot water for almost 24 hours that I was there. After I made a complaint, the staff offered to provide a 15% discount for the inconvenience. I guess that this is what is to be expected in Brazil. You have to be able to deal with inconveniences like this even at a major hotel like Mercure. If this was a hotel in the US or Europe, the staff would have most likely have given you a free stay if the hotel was without hot water for that long.

Also, this is another Accor hotel in Brazil that really does not appreciate the loyalty of their ACCOR GOLD members. I felt like I had to pull teeth to get a late-checkout from the hotel staff. I asked them for a late check out and they only said they could grant me a late check out until 1 pm. After begging one of the gentlemen who worked during the night shift to grant us a later time, he finally agreed to grant us a 3pm checkout. The loyalty program leaves a lot to be desired. However, the staff is pretty nice!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the highest floor possible. There are some floors that have a great view of the Boa V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iAmTheOneWhoKnocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is very well located, close to the beach. It is a nice thing at Recife, but this is the only good thing about this hotel. The rooms are neither beautiful nor confortable, the service is simple, the restaurant is ok. Good for a quick stay, but if you're looking for spending vacations there or something like this, you can find better hotels in the region.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otávia N, Manager at Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2015

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Recife Navegantes.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,




OTÁVIA NASCIMENTO
GERENTE GERAL
GENERAL MANAGER

mercure.com
accorhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This Mercure Hotel is off the main street, but is within a 5 minute walk to the beach. The hotel is an older property, but well maintained. They are currently renovating rooms. There is a nice restaurant that is attached to the hotel, but appears to be run separately. The breakfast buffet is good, but not always included in your room rate and the room is rather tight. The front desk folks are very helpful and the restaurant staff is friendly and will encourage you to try local favorites. The "pool" is very small, but the surrounding patio is nice. There is no fitness center. I would give this property 3.5 stars and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Made a last minute reservation as I was shocked with my staying at another hotel in. Boa Viagem area and what a great experience.

Check-in was a bit slow and could be improved but apart from that I can say that their service and room conditions were up to 4 star level.

Staff goes above and beyond to please their guests. Big thanks to the lovely staff (really sorry for not recording your name) that provided champagne glasses so I could celebrate new year eve in a great style.

Room Tip: Don't go looking around for breakfast. Hotel has a great selection and it's price and qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_FortyPlusCountries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Recife hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Recife
#5 of 56 in Recife
1,756 reviews
Boa Viagem
Internacional Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes

Address: Rua dos Navegantes 1706, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51020-010, Brazil (Formerly Parthenon Recife Navegantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Recife
Price Range: $59 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing