We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Betty Davis Said It Best, "What A Dump!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Recife
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Betty Davis Said It Best, "What A Dump!"”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Have only stayed in Mercure properties a few time, and for the most part they're fair to adequate. This place would have to work very, very hard to even come up to a poor rating.

Where to start? The doors to the rooms that won't close unless you slam it a few times (wonderful to hear when trying to sleep), the drain in the bathroom that takes an hour to drain (what do you call a drain that doesn't)? The poor Wi-Fi service? The overpriced and embarrassingly meager breakfast offering (I thought they put bacon in the scrambled eggs. Turned out to be just burned scrambled eggs)? The incredible noise from the street below (well, at least it drowned out the sound of slamming doors)?

The owners of this property must be one of a select group that believes you put up a hotel, and then charge for the rooms. Maintenance? Who needs it? Repairs? Why bother? Improvements? Well, maybe after World Cup...

Never, never, never, never again would I stay even close to this property, and most likely never again at a Mercure.

Room Tip: Best bet is to choose a hotel other than this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish4Stripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    345
    234
    95
    44
See reviews for
165
207
82
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nites,,,,Nov30th thru Dec3rd 2013...The hotel was only 1 block from the beach,,,nice place, nice room and staff,did not eat at the hotel ,,,lots of good places to eat within a short walk,,,meat,seafood, fast food places all with in about 10 mins. walk,,,even a shopping mall about 3 blocks away and large supermarket if you wanted to bring a few things back to the room which had a fridge and microwave...The major complaint I had with the hotel was that I arrived 1 day early,,,had booked a double room, but was put in a room with 2 small twin beds,,,,after the first nite I offered to move but they kept me in the same room and still charged me for the more expensive room!..I only stayed 3 nites and at checkout, they overcharged me by about 50 usd. as I had stayed in the twin room and was charged for the more expensive double or king size bedroom! I work for an airline and always book the rooms thru Accor Hotels website,,,I have obtained Silver Status in the Accor Rewards program,,am very close to Gold Status...Now they are refusing to give me the "miles" for the nites stayed when I have always gotten points when rooms are booked thru the website and using the same rate under the same terms and conditions!!! Very upset and may just burn my points now and find a different hotel chain to use in the future!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbavorDallasTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice and clean hotel, nice staff, nice location. But wi-fi was horrible, and the sidewalks in front of the hotel were in bad shape with sewage spills and holes in the ground that could break a child's leg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Paulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

For the first part of my stay there was electrical failure. The lift was not operational until the next morning. Aircon came on only at night. The kitchen that was advertised as in "every room" was only a microwave which did not work and was replaced Day 2. Cooktop promised in advert not present. Staff wanted twice the price for room with cooktop. No breakfast. The staff hardly spoke English. On the good side, room very spacious and bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navegantes, Sc, Braz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A well located and clean hotel with horrendous service. Unfriendly staff unable to complete check-out in 30 minutes, billing errors, no response to complaints, and finally notel manager presenting invoice with false signature.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Recife hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Recife hotels
Radisson Recife
#5 of 55 in Recife
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boa Viagem
Hotel Atlante Plaza
Hotel Atlante Plaza
#6 of 55 in Recife
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes

Property: Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes
Address: Rua dos Navegantes 1706, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51020-010, Brazil (Formerly Parthenon Recife Navegantes)
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Recife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mercure Recife Navegantes Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing