We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Portuguese Food!”
Review of Recanto Lusitano

Recanto Lusitano
Ranked #59 of 5,598 Restaurants in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed February 23, 2016

If you like European cuisine then this restaurant should not be missed. We had a amazing meal of Portuguese Cod with Potatoes - with lot's of roasted garlic, you can feel the love! Portuguese name - (Bacalhau com batatas a Muro). From the moment you step in you will feel very welcomed. We were greeted by the knowledgeable maitre, briefed on restaurant menu and wine selection. It was one of those meals that I still can remember and wish I could go back to try it again. Reasonable prices for the quality and service!

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Service
    • Food
Thank territ134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 192 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

As we arrived at the restaurant we were welcomed by the maitre, all the service and suggestions they gave were spot on.

Thank keitakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

WOW!!! greatest COD (Bacalhau) I have ever had. I wouldn't say it was inexpensive, but I am happy to pay when the food, the service and the ambiance is almost perfect!! I highly recommend it!!!!!!! Incidentally we ordered "Bacalhau ao forno" for two (Cod made in the oven) absolutely delicious...

Date of visit: January 2013
1  Thank Tibialexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Since 1980, Recanto Lusitano is the place to go in Recife to taste the marvelous portuguese cousine.
Their staff is very dedicated, and the place is very pleasant to stay (always playing traditional portuguese songs).

The speciality is obviously the many ways you can try Cod Fish, or "Bacalhau" as it's called in portuguese.
As entrance try fried "Alheiras" (a type of portuguese sausage that is served with bread and lemon). A lighter option would be a soup called "Caldo Verde".

Main course must be any type of Cod Fish, try "Bacalhau às Natas", a type of Cod fish soufflé with smashed potatoes and cheese. Rice also comes as a side dish with it. The portion will be enough for three people.
Put a lot of olive oil on and eat as much as you can because you'll never forget the flavour.

To drink, a good white wine from Alentejo is perfect.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ferfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Recanto Lusitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing