We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking
Ranked #1 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for what you get”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hostel is located close to the Boa Viagem beach in a side street of one of the main streets. It's an appartment on the 3rd floor of a residential building. The staff is friendly and helpful, there are a lot of spacious rooms and the breakfast is good. The place is quite clean with a couple of common areas. Unfortunately they don't have an outside space, which is quite a must in a hot place like Recife.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trilhosdomundo, Proprietário at Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your hostel review. It is very important for us. We recently did many improvemnt in our facility. New common areas. When you return here, you will find a brand new hostel. Full of charming and upgrades!! Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    103
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
21
161
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

was there during the carnaval 2013.It was a bit of action to find the place, but once inside this
friendly hostal, everything is accomodating and easy going.From the friendly reception that gives you all the necessary infos with a big smile, to the fantastic decoration of the place, it makes you really feel at home immediately.Dormitories come with aircon, good quality lockers and nice beds.Unfortunately very few electrical outlets to charge the cellphone.
Found one in the kitchen and at the reception.Free Wifi and computers available. Also very nice breakfast included.
In front the building is the busstation with direct buses to Recife downtown and Olinda,just check in advance on what station you have to stop on the way back, its Av.Domingos Ferreira, they are all one way streets.
Citibank has an ATM just 200 meters up the road, rightside, on Av.C. Agular.
Very few restaurants in this part of town, so plan to order the Bolinhos de carne de sol
somewhere else...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toubab62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trilhosdomundo, Proprietário at Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are so glad you loved our hostel. We hope to have you here someday. Hugs from Recife!
Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Here is my objective review of this hostel. From their description I thought I was getting a true travelers hostel. But half the people staying at this hostel appear to work there, are family members of the owner/owners and/or are freinds of the owners or the staff. I was the only traveler there. The few that were there and not associated with the hostel were Brazilian travelers on business. It is very clean and nicely decorated. It is on the third floor with no elevator so if you have heavy luggage be aware. They play loud music overhead in all the common areas of the hostel from 6AM to 12 Midnight even through quiet time is from 11PM to 8AM. This seams to depend on who is working the front desk and controlling the audio. When I was there one bathroom of the 4 was under repair or remodel and the air conditioning in my room did not work. The free breakfast here is below average compared to the 7 other hostels I have stayed at so far here in Brazil. The location is close to the beach but not much else. One last thing to be aware of. Check out is 10AM. If you do not vacate the premises by 12 Noon you are charged a half day rate for storing a bag, using the WiFi or using the bathroom or toilet. Of the 250 hostels I have stayed in over the past 3 years I have never run across this. From my discussions with other travelers who I met in the city I think the best place for travelers to stay in this area is in Olinda and not in Recife. So much more to see and do there.

Room Tip: Front rooms facing the side street have more natural ventilation and you can see a slice of the Atla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trilhosdomundo, Proprietário at Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your hostel review. It is very important for us.
We recently did many improvemnt in our facility. New common areas. When you return here, you will find a brand new hostel. Full of charming and upgrades!! We review all the services proceeds and structure. You must return and see! Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I didnt find it at first and walked around couple blocks more than I needed to (may not sound too bad but with Recifes sun, and a big backpack, it was tiresome).

Hostel is very good located. Some block from the beach. Also a BIG hypermarket close by (10 min walk) where you can find food for acceptable (by Brazilian means) prices.

The actual hostel is cool. Nicely decorated (maybe a bit too much for my taste) but everything is clean and staff extremely friendly. I remember the excellent book-exchange (maybe that was a delusion because quality of book exchanges is normally set by quality of the books they have, and this one had particular good ones. But that might just have been my lucky day. Anyway, I like to think that it was because of this great hostel).

Price is cheap and good value for money. If I return to Recife, I certainly would like to return to this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trilhosdomundo, Proprietário at Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are so glad you loved our hostel. We hope to have you here someday. Hugs from Recife!
Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

not very easy to find it, as there is no sign in the building. The location is superb, near an excellent beach (boa viagem). Great staff and breakfast. For sure, if I come back to Recife I would stay there again. If you are looking for a cheap, safe, clean, fun and well located hostel, stay here.

Room Tip: choose the private room if you have the little extra money, it's worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank douglas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trilhosdomundo, Proprietário at Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your hostel review. It is very important to us.
Hugs from Recife!
Hugs from Brazil!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maceio, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great hostel! Friendly, warm staff. The hostel has a homely feel to it. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Recife. Everything you need from a hostel, fantastic location and good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trilhosdomundo, Proprietário at Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your hostel review. It is very important to us!
We did many improvemnent in our structure and facilities.
Hugs from Recife!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

It was the cosiest hostel during my one-month trip to Brazil.I liked the interior: bright colours and nice design. There was even a small library in the common area, I liked that people had breakfast at a long table - like a family! The rooms were clean. The staff friendly. The lockers were in the reception area and the hostel provided keys. Using pc and internet was free of charge. It was not easy to find this hostel (there was no sign on the building). The beach was very close and indeed it was a very nice beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trilhosdomundo, Proprietário at Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are so glad you loved our hostel. We hope to have you here someday. Hugs from Recife!
Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Recife hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manibu Recife
Hotel Manibu Recife
#9 of 55 in Recife
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Recife
Radisson Recife
#5 of 55 in Recife
1,659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Recife Boa Viagem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis Recife Boa Viagem
1.0 mi away
Transamerica Prestige Beach Class International
3.6 mi away
Hotel Barramares
Hotel Barramares
#31 of 55 in Recife
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking

Property: Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking
Address: Avenida Conselheiro Aguiar 2034 | Barão de Camaçari Building - 3rd floor, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51111-010, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Recife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and cozy hostel, located 50 meters from the sea, in the Boa Viagem district, city of Recife, PE, Brazil. Sustainability, hospitality, arts e culture are our main values! Quick and easy access by bus to the main touristic spots in the city and a lot services just next door, such as restaurants, night clubs, banks, exchange offices and supermarkets. Be hosted with all the hospitality of our Pirates-Hosts! • Bedrooms for either 4, 6, 7 ou 8 persons, mixed or female. All of them are equipped with bunk beds, air-conditioners and individual lockers with key and the possibility to use your own padlock. • Shared bathrooms integrated to the bedrooms. • Living rooms. • TV room equipped with cable TV and original movie DVDs. • Shared kitchen equipped with all appliances needed for the guests to cook. - Co-working available for guests• Computers with high-speed internet access 50 MB SycroDuoSystem2.8 wifi*r - Wi-Fi in all common areas and rooms of the hostel 24/7. • Security cameras and reception 24/7 following international safety standards. • Check out updated fees at the website of the hostel. • Check out our detailed fees, reservations and cancelling politics at the website of the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Piratas da Praia Hostel CoWorking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piratas Da Praia Hostel CoWorking Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing