We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Onda Mar
Nearby Hotels
$82
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel ibis Recife Boa Viagem(Recife)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$82
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Manibu Recife(Recife)(Great Value!)
$69
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$83
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Villa Boa Vista(Recife)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
42
144
153
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
144
153
38
21
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 398 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was in this hotel on the night of september 30, 2013. During checking in I asked for a quiet place. They assigned me room # 416. It was smelly and the shower box, in the form of a sharp triangle, extremely small. Besides this it was noisy! I went to the front desk an asked for another room. The gentleman sent me to room 916. This time the shower box was somewhat larger, at least you could move yourself around a little. But: it was smelly, the matress was hard as a rock and extremely noisy (noise come from cars, air conditioners from the hotel and surrounding buildings AND from a power generator!! The restaurant is good if you like big portions and do not care much about the appearance. Breakfast is the usual and plenty. I was supposed to stay for 05 nights. Could stand only one!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wamberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed for one week in Onda Mar Hotel in Recife (Pe - Brazil). Although well placed in a touristic part of the town, i.e. Boa Viagem, close to the airport, and with a nice breakfest, the general aspect of the rooms, the quality of the bathroom, the quality of the beds are limited. The rooms are also very noisy due to intense streets traffic near-by, and to the three existing elevators. The access to WiFi is charged (3USD/h, with only one possible connection). The efficiency of the staff although very educated is limited (one week attempting to have a good evacuation of used water in the bath room). Be free to negociate prices in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Dirt and old hotel. Very expensive considering the instalations. Do not like the breakfast. Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina_ferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The room was well cleaned and sought after. Instead the lobby and the corridor area were't as such. The food was very good during breakfasts and reasonable during lunch. Everything you wanted was being charged, but reasonably. I could recommend Onda Mar for the accident traveller. Tommi Lindh

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlindh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Onda Mar says it is 4 stars, but don't belevieve it. It is 2 stars or 3 minus.

It is a big building with a good structure, but very, very dirty.

Floors haven't seen water for months I believe. It is simply unbelievable how dirty the elevators are. The carpets are so dirty that you hardly see the carpets.

Rooms are are very badly cleaned. It seems the maid spends about 3 minutes to do all the work...

The windows in the rooms and other areas haven't been washed for years, for sure.

The restaurant floor is always dirty.

Air-con was very noisy and did not work well. TV did not work well. The bed is uncomfortable, sheets are old, towels are old.

Do you want know what I think? Onda Mar Hotel is onde of those hotels that could be easily much better and acceptable, but hasn't received maintenance and nowadays doesn't receive minimum and simple cares, like cleaning.

Front desk staff is slow and not very professional.

Breakfast is surprisingly nice and tasty, but how can you trust it and be tranquil is the hotel is so dirty?

Location is very good (2 blocks from a nice area on the beach) and near the nicest mall in Recife, as well as good restaurants.

Conclusion: only stay at Onda Mar if you get a really low rate. I paid 114 reais for two persons (48 reais), which is cheap for the area. I should have imagined the risk. For 50% more, you can stay in much better hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DioPortoAlegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews