We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruim!”
Review of Hotel Onda Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Onda Mar
Ranked #9 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Recife
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ruim!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was in this hotel on the night of september 30, 2013. During checking in I asked for a quiet place. They assigned me room # 416. It was smelly and the shower box, in the form of a sharp triangle, extremely small. Besides this it was noisy! I went to the front desk an asked for another room. The gentleman sent me to room 916. This time the shower box was somewhat larger, at least you could move yourself around a little. But: it was smelly, the matress was hard as a rock and extremely noisy (noise come from cars, air conditioners from the hotel and surrounding buildings AND from a power generator!! The restaurant is good if you like big portions and do not care much about the appearance. Breakfast is the usual and plenty. I was supposed to stay for 05 nights. Could stand only one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wamberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    140
    148
    36
    20
See reviews for
111
63
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed for one week in Onda Mar Hotel in Recife (Pe - Brazil). Although well placed in a touristic part of the town, i.e. Boa Viagem, close to the airport, and with a nice breakfest, the general aspect of the rooms, the quality of the bathroom, the quality of the beds are limited. The rooms are also very noisy due to intense streets traffic near-by, and to the three existing elevators. The access to WiFi is charged (3USD/h, with only one possible connection). The efficiency of the staff although very educated is limited (one week attempting to have a good evacuation of used water in the bath room). Be free to negociate prices in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Recife hotels

Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Dirt and old hotel. Very expensive considering the instalations. Do not like the breakfast. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina_ferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The room was well cleaned and sought after. Instead the lobby and the corridor area were't as such. The food was very good during breakfasts and reasonable during lunch. Everything you wanted was being charged, but reasonably. I could recommend Onda Mar for the accident traveller. Tommi Lindh

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlindh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Onda Mar says it is 4 stars, but don't belevieve it. It is 2 stars or 3 minus.

It is a big building with a good structure, but very, very dirty.

Floors haven't seen water for months I believe. It is simply unbelievable how dirty the elevators are. The carpets are so dirty that you hardly see the carpets.

Rooms are are very badly cleaned. It seems the maid spends about 3 minutes to do all the work...

The windows in the rooms and other areas haven't been washed for years, for sure.

The restaurant floor is always dirty.

Air-con was very noisy and did not work well. TV did not work well. The bed is uncomfortable, sheets are old, towels are old.

Do you want know what I think? Onda Mar Hotel is onde of those hotels that could be easily much better and acceptable, but hasn't received maintenance and nowadays doesn't receive minimum and simple cares, like cleaning.

Front desk staff is slow and not very professional.

Breakfast is surprisingly nice and tasty, but how can you trust it and be tranquil is the hotel is so dirty?

Location is very good (2 blocks from a nice area on the beach) and near the nicest mall in Recife, as well as good restaurants.

Conclusion: only stay at Onda Mar if you get a really low rate. I paid 114 reais for two persons (48 reais), which is cheap for the area. I should have imagined the risk. For 50% more, you can stay in much better hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DioPortoAlegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Recife hotels
Park Hotel
#14 of 55 in Recife
811 reviews
Recife Praia Hotel
#16 of 55 in Recife
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boa Viagem
Internacional Palace Hotel
Boa Viagem Praia Hotel
#36 of 55 in Recife
696 reviews
Hotel Manibu Recife
#9 of 55 in Recife
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Mar

Property: Hotel Onda Mar
Address: Rua Ernesto de Paula Santos, 284 | Boa Viagem, Recife, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Recife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onda Mar Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing