We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to stay”
Review of Hotel 7 Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 7 Colinas
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Olinda
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice to stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is situated in a large plot, very wooded, where there is a great swimming pool, reception, fitness room and the breakfast room. The staff was always polite and efficient. Our apartment was luxus type with a balcony and hammock opposite of a small lake where we could hear the falling water of a fountain in the middle of a lush local vegetation. Very nice to stay there. Such deluxe room has all the essential amenities, is clean, however simple. The breakfast is not wonderful, if compared with usual standard in the northeast of Brazil. However, it offers some local juices, fruits, breads and cakes. 200 metres from hotel, in Praça do Carmo, you can catch buses to Recife and to the Airport (in this case two buses) and next to the hotel there is a small pizzeria also. There are taxis avaiable at Praça do Carmo also. In the hotel's surroundings there are some restaurants and bars as well as the main churches and all other tourist attractions. All tours in Olinda can be made on foot starting from the hotel. Another negative issue of the hotel is its price, as we could see, above the average of similar accommodations and even better, in Olinda and in other regions we visited (Paraíba and Rio Grande do Norte). However, the services and the stay was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curiuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    138
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
72
119
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We've just returned from a 10 day visit to Olinda, Brazil. We stayed at the lovely Hotel 7 Colinas which is probably the nicest hotel in Olinda. The rooms were spare but comfortable. We had a small patio where we could sit outside, and it also came in handy for drying clothes. The bathroom was adequate, but we always noticed a rather nasty smell coming from the water when we used the shower. Although the rooms are nothing special, I gave a high rating to the hotel for several other reasons. First, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous with lush tropical vegetation. The pool is absolutely beautiful and became our frequent refuge when the heat got to us. Secondly, the hotel serves a huge, fabulous breakfast every morning with all manner of Brazilian treats. The price of the breakfast is included in the cost of the hotel so it's quite a deal since the good restaurants in Olinda are quite pricey. Thirdly, we found all of the staff at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful in every way.
The only major drawback was that the air conditioner in our sons' room did not work the first night and still didn't work after the maintenance people worked on it for 3 hours. However, our sons were able to move into another room immediately where everything was in working order. Be sure and test the air conditioner when you first arrive.
The hotel was well located in the historical district of Olinda so we were able to walk everywhere which allowed us to get plenty of exercise. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, so I cannot speak to the quality of the restaurant other than to say that it seemed rather pricey.
To sum up, the rooms are nothing special, but the grounds, pool, location and fabulous breakfast make this a great place to stay when visiting Olinda.

Room Tip: Make sure that your fan and air conditioner work. Olinda is quite hot and humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mimipaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We loved this hotel. We were able to walk everywhere in Olinda from the hotel and always felt safe (travelled with one child). Supermarket was about 20 minute walk and we stocked up on water and fruit.

The hotel restaurant was so good that we ate there most evenings (our child loved the spaghetti!). The buffet breakfast was great too. Really set us all up good for the day.

The pool was amazing. We loved it. Garden area tranquil - we did not want to leave!

Staff were very helpful and did their utmost to communicate well with us in English. They booked taxis for us and advised us on where to go and how to get there.

There was a computer you could use for free in the lobby area which was useful.

Room and bathroom were basic for the very high price but prices seem to be high everywhere! However, pillows and beds were VERY VERY comfortable. I am very particular about beds and pillows! I wanted to take one of the pillows home! We all slept extremely well here, except for the night a very loud tourist arrived next door (thin walls) and obviously didn't care who she disturbed in the middle of the night!

We stayed 5 nights and apart from that one night, we had a fantastic stay. Our room also had double doors that opened out to a small balcony overlooking the garden - beautiful. There were also 2 ceiling fans in the room (we had a family room) and aircon. The fans were brilliant and kept us all cool and mosquitoes out.

Would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TresMusketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahr, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had just one night in Olinda. Welcoming was not warm and staff in general are not giving you the feeling that you are something "like coming home". The garden and the location are just great! All attractions in Olinda are in walking distance. Breakfast is the good Brazilian standard in this hotel class. Our room (44) urgently needs renovation; the air condition is blowing directly on the bed. For just one night we would be back, for more nights we'd look for a place with a warmer atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

In beautiful Olinda, this hotel is nicely surrounded by great vegetation, offers a nice pool, nice breakfast buffet, cool hammocks in the rooms. Great choice.
Wifi is not perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Overall we had a pleasant stay and the rooms were pretty clean and comfortable, yet basic and outdated. Given the amount you are paying, the standard of the rooms didnt really meet our expecations.

However having researched other hotels in the area, this seemed to be the best option. The grounds are stunning, it is very peaceful and quiet and the restaurant is nicely placed near the pool.

We only stayed one night in olinda which was sufficient. Fortunately we were blessed with blue skies, it is a very beautiful town and worth seeing.

Would recommend this hotel - just dont expect luxury!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandeelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Wir waren schon zwei Mal hier und kennen auch andere Pousadas (Quatro Cantos, Amparo), doch in Sachen Ambiente, Stil und Lage kann es kein Haus in Olinda mit dem 7 Colinas aufnehmen. Eine wunderbare Oase mit historischer Umgebung. Die grosszügige Anlage mit Pool, Restaurant und Bar wird von Kokospalmen gesäumt, was ihr - umgeben von historischen Gebäuden - einen unvergleichlichen Charme verleiht. Ein wahres Paradies!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boschung76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costeiro
Hotel Costeiro
#2 of 10 in Olinda
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 5 Sois
Hotel 5 Sois
#4 of 10 in Olinda
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Sao Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Recife Boa Viagem
0.3 mi away
Pousada dos Quatros Cantos
0.3 mi away
Pousada do Amparo
Pousada do Amparo
#3 of 27 in Olinda
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 7 Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 7 Colinas

Property: Hotel 7 Colinas
Address: Ladeira do Sao Francisco, 307, Carmo, Olinda, State of Pernambuco 53120-070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Olinda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 7 Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel 7 Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 Colinas Olinda, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing