We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Telling tales of Tollywood”
Review of Tolly Tales

Tolly Tales
Ranked #507 of 4,557 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Been to this place long back when they used to serve the lunch buffet. The items they used to cover within the buffet, were pretty much simple, though very tasty. We had 3 different types of starters of chicken, veg and fish, 4-5 main courses and 3-4 deserts in the buffet under a very reasonable price.
Actually it's an awesome themed restaurant which is more famous for its ambience and lovely stuffs and it's located in a very convenient place. Bengali guys will find it more attractive as it's themed mainly on legendary Bengali movies.
Have to visit again to try their new items.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Swarnendu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

Located in the food hub of Kolkata near sarat Bose road. Easy to locate. The view from the outside looks very average. But the ambience is really very nice. Walls are decorated with movie posters. The lighting is on the dark side to maintain the ambience. One of the best thing is that they serve draught beer.
Coming to food ;

Polar bear : It's a mixture of mango juice, litchi and Vanilla ice-cream. The taste was very nice.

Fish Gondhoraj: it's one of the beautiful dishes I had. The flavour of Gondhoraj is mixed with the fish and the taste was mind-blowing.

We also ordered mixed Hakka noodles with chili chicken gravy.

They have three different cuisine. Indian, Chinese and continental. Maybe there is a timing for cuisines. Saturday after 7pm no Chinese food will be served ( as told by staff). But after requesting they somehow managed Chinese cuisine for us.

Overall it's a nice experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank jays0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

Very eclectic ambience inspired by the Movies of yesteryears. They also have big screen for Bollywood songs & sports. Big USP is fresh draught beer. Food quality is average, but service is with a smile.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ManavM956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

It was a rain-drenched Friday. As I was returning home with my daughter after her school bus dropped her off, she wanted to try out Tolly Tales but asked me to bring the food home. The restaurant is within a stone's throw from our house, so it made sense. We tried out Sesame Crusted Chicken that scores a definite distinction (the tartar sauce was a bit soury though), Spaghetti Lamb Bolognese - a confident first division, & Barbecued Pork Sandwich - scores a star. They also serve a decent Galawati Kebab, a very good Chicken Bharta and some great Chilli Pork. With an excellent range of liquor on the menu that includes Draught Beer and some hard-to-resist BOGO offers that run on all weekdays, this is increasingly becoming a favored destination of the young and old; family, friends and colleagues. Last, but not the least, they have some of the most well-behaved stewards on their payroll, and even those staffing the entrance are extremely well-behaved. 

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank goutamdass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018

This was my third visit to this awesome restaurant, great ambiance and food... service was good as always.
We celebrated the new year in the restaurant where all the staffs came and wished us New Year.

Must say that Mr. Deepak Adhikari has done a splendid job as an owner.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Soumya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolly Tales also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Tolly Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing