We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floating comfort”
Review of Floatel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floatel Hotel
Ranked #37 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Floating comfort”
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This hotel is based upon ganges river, a floating hotel.. nice experience. especially the bridge restaurant is too good a place to hang in.

  • Liked — Scenic location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Prihul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Mr Prithul,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    134
    91
    38
    32
See reviews for
81
77
33
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Good concept. Nice service. Good food. No internet access. Great view from the rooms

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InterestingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Floated is located within the poor area of town. Whilst the Guards keep the poor away, the second you leave you are assulted by the masses.
The Hotel says its 4 stars, but I could bearly rate 1. The rooms are old and everything is rusty and needs repair. The river smell pervades everything (not a good thing) and any noise bounces around the Hotel, which is built of steel.
The hotel boasts 24 hr doctor on call, but when asked at 2am apologises and says I had to go to clinic at 8pm. did not make it and wound up in Hospital later that day.
Food is poor and self serve means 2-3 choices and often cold food.
everyone expects a tip. Airconditioning is central, giving no room control.
I woudl not pay $60US per day, let alone the $140 they want.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieTraveller091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.9 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#24 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#48 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#22 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#49 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#26 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floatel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Property: Floatel Hotel
Address: 9/10 Strand Road | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing