We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view for dinner”
Review of Floatel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floatel Hotel
Ranked #39 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful view for dinner”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went for the first time recently for dinner to Floatel Hotel. A lovely ambience and so close to the nature. Nice, quiet and relaxing. However the service was not much to speak off. Too few waiters trying to serve a pretty full outlet. It seemed as though the service went with the flow of the hooghly river!! Food too was nothing great so we ended up having more of drinks with kebabs and gave the buffet a complete miss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raju S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We would conduct a detailed analysis on the products and services offered to you and make all necessary amends to it on priority.

We are also delighted for your appreciation of our products and services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    135
    92
    38
    32
See reviews for
81
78
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A mesmerizing view tends to soothe our mind and heart...Floatel gives that effect to its guests..watching the sun set from the deck of the hotel and lighting up of Vidyasagar setu and Howrah bridge in the dark, simply left me speechless. The fresh air of Hoogly tends to refresh every part of your body and the delicious cuisines act as the icing over the cake. The service providers are humble and co-operative and try to give the best to their guests. Let it be family, Friends or your Lover, a dinner in Floatel is worth giving a shot.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debankita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ma’am,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have you at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A novel hotel for Kolkata, though the fourth such hotel I have stayed in. The steep rise and fall of the tides can offer a tricky journey down the gangway. Compared with similar places, this was of a lower standard;- noisy, and the restaurant was a walkway for functions on the upper deck. Clean and comfortable rooms. Mostly buffet style meals served, but a la carte available.

Room Tip: rooms upstream are quieter. Also the land view should be avoided if you are staying any amount of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was all excited when I got a chance to stay in this place, however, disappointment greeted me here :(. The rooms are too small and stuffy, you hardly have place to move around.Talking about maintenance, bathrooms are in dire need of the same. The rooms were damp at certain places, which is not expected of a 4 star hotel (They claim it to be one). Since, there is no scope of ventilation in the room, thus, you are highly dependent on the central air conditioning system. In our case, even that was switched off in the night (Reason given - Someone else in other room was feeling cold, so they chose to suffocate the others to death....well almost!! - Hilarious). We had to attend a reception in the same place, and let me tell you the food quality, variety and taste were all far below standard. The reception party was poorly managed as there were dirty plates lying all over the place and no one bothered to clear'em. Food served was cold and they took ages to replenish the dishes. The only good thing about this hotel is the buffet breakfast. Thus, this is only a hyped place with over the board pricing...

Room Tip: As for the sunset rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallikajjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Front Office Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr Mallikajjw,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

We would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We understand that your stay was not memorable one I sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience this would have caused you. Our team is briefed for the same and they are taking sincere effort to prove themselves so that the guest services are taken on priority basis .

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata ,in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Amit Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Floatel, as the name suggests is a floating hotel. The location is great considering that it is at the heart of the city and also the view from the rooms is great with the Ganges greeting you in the morning.

However if you are on a business trip and seeking some quiet to work, this is not the right place since the hotel is an island body the acoustics are horrible and any noise anywhere is heard is all the rooms.
When asked if anything can be done about this, the answer was a no.

The food is strictly okay and the rooms,especially bathrooms need some serious maintenance.

All in all, a good concept to try out once for the sheer novelty factor, but then when the novelty wears off and you seek genuine comfort living, dont come here and instead choose a conventional hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paelovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited the restaurant, The Bridge, of this hotel in February 2012 on Valentines Day. The decor was wonderful, however it was very crowded and I did not like that. You cannot have privacy, there were people all around and the long queue waiting for their turn made me a bit jittery.

The food was however very good, though nothing out of the world. The best part of this whole thing was the candle light dinner under the open sky, sitting on the roof of this floating hotel. The river Ganges looked awesome and made a perfect setting for a romantic dinner.

I would definitely ask my friends to visit this restaurant for a wonderful experience and good food, but not during rush seasons.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuhin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Mr Tuhin ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in january for my office work. Execellent stay with actual value for money. Sight from the rooms are awesome. Food served in the restaurant were amazing with a lavish buffet spread.
Must visit n located in city centre n near market hub.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iddeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Mr Das ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.9 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#22 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#19 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
740 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#44 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
268 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floatel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Property: Floatel Hotel
Address: 9/10 Strand Road | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing