We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“floating hotel”
Review of Floatel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floatel Hotel
Ranked #37 of 229 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed January 22, 2013

During a family trip, I stated here for two days and was extremely satisfied with its ambience. The location of the hotel is mind-blowing with it being reconstructed on a vessel. With the high tides in during my stay, experience as great. Food is good though room service is little slow. River side rooms give a very nice view during sunrise and sunset.

Room Tip: choose a river side view room for a natural view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jveenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 397 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had visited this hotel twice during lat couple of months. Ihave found to be at nice location. Dtaff are very good and of helping nature. At every occasion, while at breakfat, lunch or dinner, they ask for our views about hotel as well as services. This really matters and give us the comfort. Room service is prompt. Welcome desk is fats for new entry. Every staff member infiorms you ask for what that he / she can do for you.

Room Tip: Room on the river side have a better look outside Higher Fllor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcshah_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the services provided by our team. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rooms are small and quite old.Ground floor rooms are really shabby.Television old n CRT with very weak signal..Even bathroom fittings are in bad shape.Full night You will hear sound of somebody walking on wooden floor in corridor..But buffet breakfast is awesome...Food is good but a bit costly...and lastly ambience is excellent floating on Ganges...

Room Tip: Rooms on First floor sunset view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErShashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the services provided by our team. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for a night. The hotel is run down. They gave me a room on the third floor. It was noisy throughout the night. Sleep disturbed. No hot water in the shower. Shower in the bathtub, but it wont drain. Had to stand in ankle deep water for the shower. Very Poorly maintained. While checking out the front desk asked me how the stay was. I answered unpleasant. He did not reply or react! He went on with his work - it was just a formality he was fulfilling. He was not bothered about my answer.

The much hyped view was not enjoyable. It was smoggy/foggy. Could not see anything. Food is expensive and quality was not that good.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Dont take rooms on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2015

Dear Sir,
Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

At Floatel, Kolkata it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

We look forward to meet you during your next visit to Floatel, Kolkata. We will be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Thanks & regards ,
Team Floatel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Floatel has an great location, right on Ganga river. But the rooms are small, old , some times smelling, too cold, bathroom fixtures are old, it takes time to get hot water.
Their is good rooftop restaurant but many times it's booked for parties and you are denied access. The food is costly. I would suggest only people who wish to have parties book the roof top restaurant, not good for staying. More good options are available at same rates in Kolkata.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank AmolP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mr Amol,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the services provided by our team. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The novelty of the place along with the location, makes it a great place to hold an event. From smaller ones for 50 people to larger 200 people events, the service and food were great.

The view (though sadly the Ganges is not well lit) is great. One can see the Howrah and Hooghly bridges from the hotel.

We had Christmas lunch there - a buffet. Good selection with a Santa Claus and a magician around to entertain the younger ones. Good food and great place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RuminderC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Mr Ruminder C,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was not as impressed. The floating experience was something new but the hotel condition was a little run down. Rooms are rather small. I would not choose this place other than for some meals just to have the fun of floating on the holy River Ganges.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the river and you can see good sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ravi311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Front Office Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Mr Ravi ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

Sir as the hotel is not a land based hotel and it has certain specification and guideline but perhaps Floatel has its own charm and unique experience .

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Amit Dutta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#43 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#29 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
713 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#17 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
423 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treebo Globe International
Treebo Globe International
#36 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floatel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Address: 9/10 Strand Road | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 229 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing