We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floatel Hotel
Ranked #38 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I planned to visit Kolkata during the Durga Pooja Festival and selected this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, the staff as very friendly, the room looked great, opening the curtains could view the Ganges and ferries, boats going by and was worth watching, the beds were soft, well maintained. If one has a Cruise experience, they would love this place, in case you plan to leave very early morning for some sightseeing they would pack the b'fast for us.

Something that I did not like was the service @ the restaurant which is on the 3rd floor, no one cared to listen to the concerns, they were no spoons served, had a wait for a very long time and the billing was also pathetic, they got someone's else bill to me :-) . B'fast was a lot better.

I would recommend this hotel only if you get the SUNSET room, do remb. this.. and best places for Couples..

Room Tip: Select the SUNSET room and in case leaving early morning ask for the packed b'fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mr Sandeep ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the services provided by our team. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

the place is awesome...The best part was having dinner on the open air top deck which is an extension to the restaurant. The food and service is excellent. The sunset room with huge glass windows overlooking the river is simply great.
A stay during weekends on the river is a must to take out all the stress.

Room Tip: Stay in a Sunset room and have dinner on the bridge deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you!!!! See you soooooooooon :):):):):):)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here one night. From the food to the service to the view, I had an amazing time. Its definitely a must-stay kinda place. The concept is soo unique as is the view. The ambience is very different from any other hotel in Kolkata. The view of the river is breathtaking, especially during sunset and during the Pujas. The buffet choices at dinner and breakfast were incredible. I was so spoilt for choice. The staff are very friendly and courteous and made every effort to make you feel at home.
the bottom line is its definitely worth trying when you come to Kolkata!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Shubho Bijoya! Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased to have met your expectations.

We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place has the most amazing locational advantage in a metro like Kolkata.If not for anything else,you'll love this place simply because of the sights and sounds it offers.The food is also amazing,really the fish preperations are amazing.However,the service is lagging as there a staff shortage.The rooms are unclean and pretty much unhiegynic,damp and mushy.Not good for stay,however you'll enjoy the food and view.Quite a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pallu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for feedback. The chef is happy you like his food, especially fish and he says thank you for your positive comment.

We are investigating the cause of the dampness in the rooms. We appreciate your review as it the best way we receive constructive and direct feedback as a means to improve our services.

We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

9 of us went for food there. Locations is excellent. Convennient. you are on the Ganges. Food is very costly. over all ambience was fabulous. Staff were ok. But get a bit of government feeling. like takes time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PullKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for feedback. The Floatel is the only floating hotel in India. We are pleased you enjoyed our unique experience.

We do hope we can meet your other expectations on your next visit. We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is really unique..and really offer a good, quite and cosy rooms. View from the hotel is lovely... where you can see both old and new howrah bridges. the restaurant on the upper deck offer a good view of the river making it a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with river are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritzy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased to have met your expectations. The view is really nice, especially during Diwali & Durga Puja when all of Kolkata is decorated with fairy lights.

We do hope we can achieve a perfect score on your next visit. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in the hotel last week on a unplanned trip, to experience the river front. The hotel is a unique concept, and offers cosy accommodation. The rooms are small, but the view of the river is breathtaking, especially during sunset. The food is nice. The staff are warm and helpful. It is overall a good value for money. The only drawback is the noise in corridor, which is disturbing at all hours. Sound proofing can be improved.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team.. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

The ship being made of iron (ferro concrete structure), sound travels fast. We are in process of having the same reduced.

Warm Regards,

Kunal Banerjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#44 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#31 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
722 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#64 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
190 reviews
5.5 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#13 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
724 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#15 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floatel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Address: 9/10 Strand Road | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $73 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing