We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD”
Review of Zaranj

Zaranj
Ranked #85 of 4,198 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

It was a nice restaurant, and the food was indeed very good. It was well located, and the service was excellent. Woudl gladly go back there again nd again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VINOD110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    20
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“This is a very good choice”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very good restaurant, Nice, clean, licensed - and best of all a variety of the best Indian kitchen ... go for a lunch, and a break from the hectic and very hot streets, where traders of all kinds try to sell you everything ... very good and spicy food

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Food !”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food is awesome, north Indian cuisine, and the decent look and ambiance ! The service was little not good as the staff were keeping eye on every movement, but i liked the food...as compared to price the food is awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dipakagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Multicuisine restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have eaten at Zaranj several times. My experience as far as food is concerned, has always been the same. Other things have given me different experience at different visits.

Let me first talk about the food. The food is simple outstanding. It is served within reasonable time. For those who are from kolkata, would find it to be costly but those who have been to delhi or mumbai, would find it reasonable. A typical dinner for four adults, without alcohol, would cost you around 3000 bucks in Indian Currency. Pick up any item with paneer (cottage cheese) and you would love the way the chef has made it delightful. The indian spices, the cream, the use of butter and milk, the softness of cheese, you would simple love it. Dal (curry) is another item you must try. There are lot of choices in bread. I suggest you don't order all your bread at one go.

Now let me other things.

Location - Even though I am from Kolkata, it was difficult for me to locate it at one go. Though centrally located and established on the main road, the entrance and the name of the restaurant are put up in such a way that you would surely miss it for the first time.

Service - If you go on weekends or sundays, you might have to wait for long hours for your turn to get a place. So make a tele booking and then go. However in our case, even though we did a booking and arrived well before time, they gave preference to those who arrived early at the restaurant, with or without booking.

So that was a disappointment and point of agitation.

On sundays and weekdays you would feel the rush and it is more likely that you would be under pressure to finish your meal quickly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitin_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've eaten at Zaranj several times in the past and on my nost recent trip to Kolkata ate there twice more. I keep going back because the food quality is outstanding and the price is also quite good. Service was great and I love the atmosphere in the place. HIghly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank drjeff1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaranj also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Zaranj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing