We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mughlai Biriyani”
Review of Arsalan

Arsalan
Ranked #16 of 4,612 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 25, 2019

Always love the taste. Specially Arsalan Special Biriyani. Anytime and every time to have.Excellent service. But had rotten food once. When I complained they didn't take any action.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anupam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 284 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

This was my 4th time in Arsalan. Everytime i visit kolkata, i visit this place once or twice. Love their food. Their biriyani kababs curries all are very tasty. One problem is, every time I go there to eat, i see a large number of people standing in a que to get in. This is a famous restaurant in kolkata, lot of local people and people from other countries come here to eat but their restaurant sitting capacity is very poor. Not more than 50-60 people can hope in inside the restaurant. They should definitely rent a bigger place and make more room for the customers.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Shihab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

I know. may sound surprising, but the best way to judge a Mughlai restaurant is to taste its vegetarian dishes.
Primarily because of two reasons. One the vegetarian dishes are an integral part of Mughlai cuisine and also they are not so commonly ordered at any Mughlai restaurant with most people opting for non veg food.
hence the best indicator of freshness and quality is veg dishes.
i am a fan of Arsalan and always make it a point to visit the place when I am in Kolkata.
Also i am a pure vegetarian hence the review is with respect to Veg food at Arsalan, which is very good.
The Paneer Kadhai I ate this time was spicy, dry, paneer was soft and succulent and that is something to say since I was the only one eating a paneer dish there.
All in all a good place to satisfy your craving for Mughlai food.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drgursev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Arsalan has a renowned familiarity authentic Mughlai cuisine. For Kolkatans, Arsalan means big gatherings and Biryani. Arsalan is considered as the unofficial dinning districts for its variation in Biryani, such as Mutton Biryani, Hyderabadi Biryani, Chicken Biryani, etc.
Other dishes of Arsalan include Chicken Chaap and variants of Kebabs and most importantly Haleem.
Meal service: Banquets, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank SuhailH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019 via mobile

Ordered the special chicken biriyani with some raita...nice taste and really good portions for the price...
One of the most famous biriyani places in town...

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ApratimC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arsalan also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Arsalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing