We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainland China

Mainland China
Ranked #18 of 4,150 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good food,well ambience,courteous,good priced.in the heart of the city of joy.They have also a few branches in the city.'

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prabirdatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    225
    58
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekday buffet at Mainland China, Gurusadaya Road, Ballygunge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

It was a lazy afternoon and I was meeting one of my old colleagues after a long time over lunch on a week day..

We decided on Mainland China as a visit there was overdue.
We did not reserve because we not only arrived early for lunch but it was a weekday too.

We did not have to wait and we're led to a cozy and comfortable corner table.
Since lot of talks were due first, we asked for Beer and asked soup not to be served. There is an amazing collection of beers and my friend chose Hoe Garden beer for both of us which I found to be very good.

The Chicken Correander soup followed and starters of excellent varieties of tastes, both veg and non veg were served on the table.
They were all great but the preparations of fish were by far the best.
It took me quite a while to make out what the preparation was made from.
Non veg had fish, chicken,crab, lamb and veg starters had mushroom, baby corn, potatoes etc.

After all this, going into the main course was nothing short of an adventure.
You had two types of noodles, fried rice and steamed rice as main course to go with wonderful preparations of prawn, chicken, crab and mutton preparations.
Your mind wants to repeat all of them all over but physically you are not able to do so any more.

The desserts as usual start with excellent darsan with ice cream of your choice and chef's special preparations of cakes.

Overall, it was excellent value for money with lunch costing about 800/- without drinks, which of course is separately chargeable.

It is a good deal any day:-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdasgupta_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Mainland China chain is worth having a meal at. Decent service, good quality food and wide range of liquor. The decor is definitely upmarket too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anuburman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mainland China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Amazing Food.....dimsums are great and the clay pot is awesome. both vegetarian and non vegetarian .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vmaitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food is good but you have to ask the steward the type of dish you would like if you are not aware of the different tastes that varies according to the provinces in China. The place is good and you can make a reservation and there is a sitting arrangement also but small.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 12345125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainland China also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Mainland China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing