We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Hotel Gulshan International
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gulshan International
Ranked #111 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and have to say, it is total value for money.It is very near to park street and hence location wise it is very good.Rooms are basic and modern.Food was not bad either.Would definitely recommend to business travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bismoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
7
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

For INR 2000, the hotel is farr too expensive. Rooms are OK, but hot water was only available after 20 minutes and 2 phone calls. Shower head rusty, had to take indian shower. Breakfast poor, the whole environment is noisy, although the location is OK and many things are in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

I checked in at around 10:30 & I was shocked looking at the Hotel Reception. It was stinking & kind of suffocating.

The lighting is not sufficient & the rooms are terrible. The food is No No. There are no facilities as compared to what they charge. I have paid 2000+ / day but the room according to me is not worth more than 1200/1300.

Please avoid this

One good thing is that staff is okay & willing to help.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyasvimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Don't expect amenities of a Star category hotel but rooms/baths are clean. Beds are reasonably comfy. Noiseless split air-conditions are a boon in sweltering heat of Kolkata almost year-long. Hotel food is not upto the standard but there are choices of restaurants within walking distance or 10 minutes taxi-ride. Flury's is famous for breakfast, bakery items and great coffee. Peter Cat serves truly delicious lunch & dinner. It's a place you must visit to savour great indian cuisine and some mouth-watering dishes from Mughal & colonial era.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skysurfer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

After some searching around online, we chose the Gulshan because it appeared to offer good value. Not so. For what you can get elsewhere in Calcutta, we found the rooms expensive.

We had an "Executive Deluxe" room which we were told slept two adults and two children. It only had two twin beds. When we enquired as to where the other beds were, we were told "In India, we don't count children for beds" (i.e. we assume they sleep with the parents).

As well "Executive Deluxe" is misleading. While the room was better than others in the hotel, it makes Motel 6 look like the Four Season's.

The staff were helpful but overall you can do better in Calcutta.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vangr00vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed in Hotel Gulshan International in the Royd Street, Kolkata for two nights in April 2008. I found the hotel to be quite ordinary and could not understand why the room rent was quite high compared to the service they were providing. To start with, rooms are small, difficult to get hot water in the bathrooms. The food in the tiny restaurant in the basement is quite ordinary with few options for the breakfast. AC was old but it was working. There is not much space to sit and work in the room, so you spend most of the time on the bed. The positives are the location of the hotel (right in the heart of the Kolkata) and the various tourist locations of Kolkata which are located near by. You can find Park Street, Maidan, the famous Kolkata Museum, New Market, etc quite close by. Trams ply right in front of the hotel, but getting to the hotel in a taxi or going back from the hotel to airport in a taxi can be exasperating journeys due to Kolkata traffic jams. There is also another 'Hotel Gulshan Palace' by the same management in the near by Mirza Ghalib Street. There the room rents are a bit lower, but the quality of rooms is not worth staying there.

  • Liked — Its location and convenience to reach tourist attractions
  • Disliked — Soggy Poori Bhaji served for Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

This hotel was very convenient to Park Street, Calcutta's major street. The room was air conditioned and had a private bathroom, which were my two main criteria. There was also a television with HBO, which was an added bonus. The rooms were not cleaned during the day (I only stayed for two nights, so I don't know whether they clean the rooms every few days or after each client leaves). Breakfast was modest (an 'omlet' and toast with butter and jelly) but sufficient. The front desk staff is friendly for the most part.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey_Underall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#126 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#158 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aafreen International Hotel
Aafreen International Hotel
#104 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Treebo Diamond Plaza
Treebo Diamond Plaza
#71 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pallavi International
Pallavi International
#86 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulshan International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulshan International

Property: Hotel Gulshan International
Address: 21 B Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Road | Near Park Street Crossing Elliot Road (Bata Showroom), Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gulshan International 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gulshan International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gulshan International India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing