We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place in Kolkata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rushabh Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rushabh Home
Ranked #99 of 210 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Vercelli, Italy
Level Contributor
247 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great place in Kolkata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is located on the top floor of a building with many offices, so at night it is very quiet and the view offered is very beautiful. The Metro is five minutes away and nearby there are shops and restaurants. The 24-hour reception is very helpful. The room is modern and very clean, with LCD TV, air conditioning, sitting area and a bathroom equipped with every comfort. Considering the noise from the street, once the windows closed the silence that reigns in the room seems unreal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

If you skip their room service, there is no better value for money place in Kolkatta!

Based on an earlier review, we asked for room 908 (?) but were given room 909. Both are great rooms, spacious, and very well maintained.

The location allows for you to easily access the metro (a short 5 minute walk) as well as one of the best places to shop for Indian Ethnic wear, Vardhan Market (2 min walk).

Also some of the better restaurants such as Fire and Ice, and others on Park Street are within walking distance, as is the classic breakfast and tea/coffee place, Flurys.

I have visited Kolkatta over the years, and this is going to be my #1 place to come stay going forward.

Room Tip: Their tea/coffee is decent, but for all else, order in. Lots of nice places around to order from. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemanshu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Kolkata for a trip of a lifetime to attend a cousin's wedding. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the reception site and because of its price as a 3-star hotel (US$45/night). This is a basic hotel where budget Indian travelers stay.

We found it had everything except a place to eat, which was not a problem as we walked 5-10 mins to the New Kenilworth Hotel for breakfast buffet. We bought bottled water at the Hotel, Rushabh, sent our laundry out, had a newspaper every morning, and if you want, they will change your sheets everyday. (We brought our own sheets, which we prefer).

It is located in the center of EVERYTHING! What a great location. The street is quiet with a few shops including a great used book store (English titles), and a walk to either end of the street puts you onto bigger streets with shops and restaurants. Two metro stops are within easy walking distance, Maidan and Park. (The metro is very clean, and trains come on time).

The staff is bi-lingual and extremely helpful. They arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport, and for another to take us back to the airport, at a good rate. (This is preferable than arranging your own taxi unless you speak Hindi or Bengali).

As mentioned in another review, the Hotel Rushabh is on the 5th floor of an apartment/office building, and also on the roof. You take the elevator to the top - 8th floor- and walk up another short flight of stairs to the rooftop, on which have been built hotel rooms. So, they all open onto an open area where there are potted plants. Rooms 901-910 are on this level which is really nice. in other Trip Advisor reviews of other lodgings we saw a lot of comments about size of bathrooms. The bathroom in our room, 908, was twice as big as the family bathroom in a nice home we visited as part of the wedding celebrations. We think small is the norm in Indian bathrooms, and our hotel room's was a comfortable size for one, and ok for two. Our bed was firm but no complaints - we slept like logs.

If there were one thing we would mention it is that we were glad we had a calling and texting plan on our cell phone plus access to our e-mails, because the room telephone was spotty in making and receiving calls, and the desk staff are not as up to date with taking and delivering timely messages. This hotel does not have wifi, We used our cell phone, but could have walked to an internet cafe in about 10-15 mins.

Hotel Rushabh Home doesn't offer any cushion between you and Kolkata the way plush or comfortable-lobby hotels do. There is no lobby, you take the elevator to the 5th floor, check in and keep going in the elevator. Hence, it offers a real Indian experience and if you need a bubble to rest in, you can visit the New Kenilworth or other upscale hotel for breakfast.

In retrospect, we particularly enjoyed NOT being near the New Market area they way the Park St. and Oberoi Hotels are, because everyone on the street assumes you are interested in buying something. In the Hotel Rushabh Home neighborhood, you can go into shops, or buy from vendors as you wish, with limited or no hard sell. Refreshing, especially after wandering in the market area which we found exhausting.

Check out Calcutta Walks walking tours for a great introduction and deep understanding of the city.

We made the most of our 10 day stay, and feel we really lived in Kolkata, because we stayed at the Hotel Rushabh Home.

Room Tip: We liked room 908 which had a queen bed, flat screen tv,A/C, two chairs and small table, closet, win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The reception is on the 5th floor and rooms on 5th and 8th and 9th floor which is weird and the rest of the building is office space. The rooms are tiny but clean but not too sure about linen and towels etc - looked dirty to me. Room service food is bad not even tea or coffee is good. But the advantage is the location do many places on park street and other streets are close by. Stay here only if you want a really really budget accommodation and if it's a short stay and you are going to spend most of your time outside the room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adithi_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed in Kolkata with New Years, a wonderful experience on its own, but helped by this hotel. Mainly used by Indian business people, this hotel has a high standard for cleanliness. A little south from Park Street, but on walking distance to most sites.
On the rooftop are single person rooms with a great terrace in between them. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
One negative aspect could be the reception on the 5th floor and the lift going up until the 8th floor with the rooftop rooms on floor higher.
I would definitely choose this hotel again when returning to Kolkata.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandelmeditatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#92 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shila International Hotel
Shila International Hotel
#90 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gulshan International
Hotel Gulshan International
#124 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#47 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pallavi International
Pallavi International
#150 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Victerrace International
Hotel Victerrace International
#106 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rushabh Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rushabh Home

Property: Hotel Rushabh Home
Address: 6A, Middleton Street | Chhabildas Towers, Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 210 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rushabh Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the CENTRAL Entertainment area of Calcutta known as PARK STREET which is lined with pubs, restaurants, hotels and shopping malls. It is a 2 min walking distance to the U.S and British Consulates. Victoria Memorial and St. PAULS Cathedral are also 5 minutes walking distance. It is also walking distance to Indian Museum and also to the heritage area of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rushabh Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rushabh Home India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing