We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY MUCH ENTERTAINING FOR ALONE OR GROUP MALES”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Hotel Majestic
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #190 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed April 9, 2013

good hotel to visit for male persons...bcoz in the bar of this hotel ....all the beauties of kolkatta come to sing the songs of your choice...with amazing voice....and the atmosphere they creat is truely awesome.....good hotel for mast night life njoyment.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cjindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2010

I did not think this hotel is safe. I could not understand about this place.
I felt very bad and felt scared.
Because them home page is very nice but it was immoral place.
So if you want to think about your safety not to choose this.
Specially if you are alone woman or having family with you.( no good for children and wife)
But if you want to just ENJOY night life in Kolkata without molals ,it is ok.
They will help you to have Majestic time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ShitaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is a hotel which is very apt for male visitors to Kolkata on business or on any personal matter. Very close to Esplanade and in the heart of Kolkata. They have there own restaurant which supplies food to the respective rooms. For male members because the Chandni Chowk area is a litte on the darker side. But if you dont mind they dont mind you. A minutes walk to Dharmatola and the famous Rasgoolawala K.C Das. The rooms are neat enough and rates are easy on the pocket.

Esplande, Chandni Chowk Metro Stations on each side of the hotel connecting you well with all of Kolkata

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVIDMURALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

basic but ok, Hotel is located near Park Street and New Market an I think it's better then most of other low standard Hotels in this area

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Well this is a strange one. My wife and I visited West Bengal and Kolkata in February 2008. Hotels in the city centre are quite expensive so budget (ish) travellers have the option of the backpacker enclave in Sudder Street or trying to find a basic Indian hotel. On the grounds that we wanted to try the later we booked into the Majestic which is a on older/character hotel.

The first problem was our 3.00 a.m. arrival and being warned that they might not be good at handling that I faxed the day before to double confirm. The taxi driver eventually found the hotel and we had to rattle the locked gates for the night porter to wake up. But to be fair we were expected and were shown to a dingy but clean Indian Hotel Room for some sleep. Registration was dealt with next morning.

The hotel is well placed in the centre of Kolkata but is the very definite "down at heel" Indian local hotel experience. The room on the second floor would probably not be to inexperienced western travellers liking, but by Indian standards was fine and importantly clean. Unfortunately we didn't know that the bar was the preserve of very loud music with girl singers being paid to sing (and more?) by the male clientèle. Quite it is not, but the bar experience was interesting to watch (once) but made sleep on the second floor difficult. When we returned after a trip to the country we asked for a room on the 4th floor. These were much better rooms but suffered from quite a bit of traffic noise. There is a very ancient lift and if you choose to walk to the 4th floor you will invariably have to step over someone sleeping on the stairs!

We paid about 1600 rupees a night.

So a genuine Indian hotel, clean (ish), noisy at times, quirky in an Indian way, might not suit inexperienced western travellers but actually ok in a strange sort of way.

One tip if you do stay here but want a decent Western breakfast the upmarket Peerless Inn hotel is about 5 minutes walk away (towards the Oberoi) and they do an excellent full buffet western breakfast (open to non residents) for the equivalent of about 5GBP. Their ground floor coffee and cake shop is also great for getting away from India and a bit of Western luxury.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank henchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo-el-canario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heera
Hotel Heera
#88 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
21 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Majestic Suites
The Majestic Suites
#31 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#45 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
98 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#22 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 4c Madan St, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $41 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing