We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of bada bazar”
Review of Hotel Himalay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Himalay
Ranked #178 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here thrice on different occasions. It is a decent hotel with small and neat rooms. It is IMHO the best hotel of bada bazar area due its location. There are several other lodge style hotels but this is a proper hotel with a good restaurant called girnar which serves good north indian food

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rajatmaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

The rooms are small and not maintained. the linen is dirty. Bathroom quite small and not clean. The Girnar restaurant is very good and has excellent food and is a pure veg restaurant. the location of this place is good. Very centrally located and near to metro station and burra bazaar.
A average hotel for a very short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shalini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Location is good for business travelers but rooms are small and old. Although they are revonating some rooms but still much improvement is required. The lift is very noisy and need improvement. Average hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AjitabhVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The rooms of the hotel are clean and maintained. they are a little small but adequate looking at the locality where it is located. It is in close proximity to Burabazar the business hub of Kolkata and metro train is at a walkable distance. The food is good and the restaurant is a pure veg restaurant

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAHUL_SK_GOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here with my family with two super delux plus rooms. Still Rooms are dirty and small. Bathroom extemely small.
Location is good if you want to stay in center of city anf enjoy different kolkata materials
Ideal locatiom for shopping local things
Foods just ok but not at par
Dont expect too much.
Hotel is safe and marwari families come to stay here for safety reason

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lalit_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just a place where you should stay and be concerned only about your business. Don't expect too much. The rooms are very old some were being renovated. The bathrooms are small and no modern amenities are present in it. Room are good in size but beds are old along with all the furniture. Sleep quality is good. The lift is very old stings upon entry. Corners of the lobby are dirty and not very well kept. Overall this hotel enjoys the benefit of being located in a business area. The room service is good. Food in room and in the adjoining restaurant are all very nice.

Room Tip: Check the room and the bathroom before you check in. Also prefer a room on the first floor as the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anshubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed two nights in this hotel.The neighborhood is very authentic and full of locals. The subway train station is close by so it is easy to explore other parts of the city. The staff spoke clear English and were very helpful. I felt safe leaving my things in my room and security was 24 hours. The room was clean we had the double bed option which is a large room with two full mattresses. The bathroom had a western toilet that flushed and a great hot shower. The hotel is more modest and ask that you respect the other guest by not bringing in alcohol and no meat establishment. The resturant downstairs is a little expensive but very very good. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a great street vendor half a block down to the left that serves great veggie or meat wraps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreshPresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 mi away
OYO 3055 Hotel Beeu
OYO 3055 Hotel Beeu
#58 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
13 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#46 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#105 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
437 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#20 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Neeranand Hotel Dalhousie
Neeranand Hotel Dalhousie
#126 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalay

Address: 134 / 1 Mahatma Gandhi Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700007, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $30 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Himalay 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Himalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Himalay India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing