We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic hotel at good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aston

Hotel Aston
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aston
Ranked #141 of 210 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic hotel at good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel during our our transit to Sikkim. This is a basic hotel but at good location. Rooms are very small. staff is helpful. There is a taxi stand just outside this hotel, which comes handy in Kolkata as finding a taxi is very difficult there. There is nothing to be enjoyed at the hotel. This is just a place for a stopover.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Situated in the midst of the residential area this hotel has absolutely no scenic value...the windows of the rooms were opening infront of the residential flats..thereby disturbing your privacy...room size was too small with average basic amenities....room service was ok...food was also ok...

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepesh_Shrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

When we arrive at Kolkata without booking the hotel we directly go to hotel, the hotel condition is good and the staff are very helping. The hotel location quite far from street park if walking distance may take 20 minutes so we prefer by taxi which cost 100rupee.
The staff duty on that day help us to booking train ticket from kolkata- Delhi-Kolkata which very helpful to us. Thank you so much!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ferdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed here for two nights after transferring from a bad hotel nearby. This hotel was clean, tastefully decorated and had great room service. It's in a handy location and we found it quiet. Our room had reliable AC and hot water. The room was roomy and modern. We were so relieved to find it after our first bad experience. After a hard day's sightseeing in Kolkata it was a relief to get back to our cool and quiet room, order tea and a snack and relax before heading out again. The manager is friendly and helpful and the staff are organised and efficient. Although it seems to be used by businessmen, we would also recommend it for those who are in Kolkata for a few days holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aston International
Hotel Aston International
#76 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victerrace International
Hotel Victerrace International
#105 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Swagath
Hotel Swagath
#35 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#89 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
5.8 mi away
Next Generation Guest House
Next Generation Guest House
#71 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mangalam Hotel
Mangalam Hotel
#107 of 210 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston

Property: Hotel Aston
Address: 3 Aston Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 210 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aston is strategically situated in the heart of Kolkata, India, close to the city center. It is 20 km from the Dumdum Airport and 6 km from the Howrah Railway Station. Designed to offer complete comfort without breaking your budget, Hotel Aston’s air-conditioned guestrooms are furnished with a television and telephone. Running hot and cold water is also provided. For anything else you might need, room service is available round the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aston India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing