We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run! Run away fast.”
Review of Hotel Gardenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gardenia
Ranked #203 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Run! Run away fast.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The tour I was with booked us in her. The staff were vague and inatttentive at check in. Families were sleeping on the ground in the foyer. My room was next to the toilets, stunk like urine, had no window, was below street level, the linen was dirty with old curry sauce. The door did not lock properly and the bathroom was unfinished (there was pipe going into dirt under neat). I promptly checked out and into the hotel across the road.
this hotel is a "dive" the or st hotel I have been to in india (and I've been to some awful ones)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    9
    10
See reviews for
5
5
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Recently stayed for 3days. The room was dirty and the bedsheets/towel were very old and torn. Even the non-smoking rooms smelled of ash.
The only thing good about the hotel is its location. Easy access to all parts of the city.
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RimaMagaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

its was quite average to me bath place is not well maintained. Food supplied by hotel is below average. Bed sheets & towels were also dirty. Don't want to stay this hotel any more. I am a frequent traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Debajyoti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It is my pleasure to stay at hotel Gardenia. It is centrally located with all the important destinations within reach. The service is good. The carges are reasonable. Food served is tasty and good for health.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Subash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leoben, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excepting its locality I would never recommend this hotel. I have to wait at the lobby for 30 min the check in, since I made the booking online and the staff members were not able to locate it on the first go. The rooms were not that clean and are not sound proof as well. So you hear when ever people walk by. Not friendly staff members, rooms were not appealing as well as the ambiance.

I would not recommend this hotel since the price to performance ratio is very bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgprashanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed recently for 2 nights. Was given a room which was small and smelled of not being used for ages. Asked for a different room and was given even smaller room. I was Travelling alone so didn't mind it.
I won't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyphenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel Gardenia is located near central Kolkata. Esplanade, Elgin Road, Park street and Camac street are all within few minutes reach from here. We have been quite a few times, last being few months back. Reception staff are polite. Rooms are clean and well maintained. They do not have restaurant but they provide room service, quality of which was great. In the same locality there are few good eating joints too. Overall good place to stay; a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vrfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Ratnakar Inn Hotel
Ratnakar Inn Hotel
#99 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#42 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victerrace International
Hotel Victerrace International
#115 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Samilton
The Samilton
#81 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Inn
Golden Inn
#117 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Orion West Willows
Treebo Orion West Willows
#49 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia

Property: Hotel Gardenia
Address: Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gardenia 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gardenia India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing