We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay during transit or work”
Review of Hotel The Sojourn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Sojourn
Ranked #110 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed a night during my transit through kolkatta. A bit far from Airport in the day time with the traffic. but if you gonna catch a flight in early morning would hardly take 15 minutes to reach.

hotel and food both good

Room Tip: ask for the roads with windows towards the front of the building
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SajitMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Sojourn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 59 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is a nice property to stay, and is in a prime location. the restaurant and the in house bar are good, the rooms are good and clean, service is good. i recommend this hotel specially for business travelers.

Room Tip: while checking in ask for the front viewing rooms facing the stadium, they are bigger and provide a...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashishfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

stayed here for almost 4 nights and trust me it was nice and comfortable. I recommend this hotel for long stay. Keep it up guys

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANJEEVOHRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

From start to finish the service has been great. Very attentive staff - checking every morning if you need any laundry taken care of/changing towels 2 times a day if needed/around the clock room service with a smile/getting your phone topped up for you if asked.
The room is nice...not the most stylish but is kept very clean and offers everything that you need. Also Tv has a comprehensive channel list to keep you entertained.
The hotel boasts a nice but small bar holding 20/25 people max. Dinner hall and banquet halls.
The location is right opposite the 2nd biggest football stadium in the world so if there are football matches on and you are interested in that it is great (I was there when Argentina vs Venezuala was on - even Messi was there!) Regarding shopping there are malls with a mix of shops from international to national brands, it is taxi ride away (5-10mins) and can be quite hectic with the crowds but thats india.

The food quality is very good with a very extensive range of cuisines form continental, oriental to Indian. Very impressed with the options and quality.

Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is located in the Salt Lake area and is about 20 minutes from the Airport, i.e. if there is no impeding traffic. The rooms are moderately furnished, though one wished the towels were more elegant in appearance. The food served in the room, on order, was good, but it is more enjoyable to have the meals in their restaurant. They specialise in making baked lobsters, seved with rice and suated liberally in butter and accompanied with baked vegetables. The staff is courteous and helpful. All in all, good value for money and one would not mind staying once again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudhir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelthesojourn, Manager at Hotel The Sojourn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We do try to provide our guests with the best of amenities at an affordable cost. However we understand your concern regarding the towels. Please be rest assured that action would be taken so that the next time you are here, you are fully satisfied.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best wishes,

Hotel The Sojourn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The Hotel is located in Salt lake city.
Best for the travelers who are in the city for Business in Salt lake city, EM bypass and Rajarhat.
Good food and location.
The hotel is on the main road having good accessibility from the main EMbypass road.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarunSofat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is consistently good. I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions. It is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it claim to be. It is basic but the price is very good, the food is excellent and the staff helpful. It would be great if they had a business centre with internet use but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozrick33Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelthesojourn, Manager at Hotel The Sojourn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the feedback.

We are extremely happy to note that our services satisfied you each time you were here. We sincerely hope we continue to provide the same levels of comfort and convenience to our valued guests in the future.

Although at present we cannot offer a Business Center for our guests, we do offer the services of a Business Center through our back office. So the next time you need to send an important fax or get a print of that important document, do let the Front Office know and we would be more than glad to help you. Also we do have Wi-Fi throughout our hotel which should help you get online from the convenience of your room.

We look forward to your visit again.

Best regards,

Hotel The Sojourn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel De Sovrani
Hotel De Sovrani
#56 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#13 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Treebo Vedanta
Treebo Vedanta
#39 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
18 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#11 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
485 reviews
3.5 mi away
Regenta Orko's Kolkata by Royal Orchid Hotels Ltd
Regenta Orko's Kolkata by Royal ...
#28 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Sojourn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Sojourn

Address: Plot No Kb 23, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $51 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Sojourn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set up in the beautiful surroundings of Salt Lake Kolkata, The Sojourn is a 3 star facility hotel offering impeccable service and comfort to guests across the globe. The tranquil locality with lush green vegetation provides a soothing and relaxing respite from the turmoil of everyday busy life. Replete with modern facilities and exquisite architecture, effort is put to ensure guests feel home even when they are miles away from their near and dear ones. The revamped multi-cuisine restaurant Flambe provides an array of sumptuous delicacies and the newly designed lounge bar Qube offers guests an opportunity to unwind after a hectic day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Sojourn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Sojourn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing