We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can be worst” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #155 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1 review
“Can be worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Not very friendly at the reception and this is not a good first impression. They say Breakfast got eggs, juice ect but in reality we only have poor bred and better and a sad coffee :as simple as it can be: very poor

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasparrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    41
    13
    34
See reviews for
31
22
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

What works best for this hotel is the location.. in Central Kolkata area. However, its situated on a narrow lane, Sudder Street, nothing much to talk about, other than the fact that it cant be compared to the plush Park Street, for obvious reasons.
The hotel has 2 wings, the old and the new. Thanks to another review on trip advisor, i was careful to select the ones in the new wing. Obviously these would be a tad expensive than the ones in the old wing.. (note: the only way to identify between the wings is the pricing of the rooms), but i think its worth the extra money.
The room itself was average, nothing fancy, comes with a LCD television. The restaurant attached is nothing much to talk about.. looks more like a coffee shop than a restaurant. The food was decent.. however not much variety in terms of the buffet breakfast.
The service however was good.. prompt and responsive. Housekeeping was good as well, the room was cleaned up each day without a need to remind them.

Overall, i would think it may be a bit on the expensive side for the kind of value.. however given the fact that most other hotels were in a similar price range, i dont see a lot of options from a value for money standpoint.

Travelled with my 2 year daughter and spouse in Jan 2013.

Room Tip: Select the ones from the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramodvk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

After hearing bad reports of hotels in Calcutta we booked this hotel and hoped for the best. We were not disappointed as this time, we got the best!
The room was probably the cleanest we stayed in while travelling India, it was cleaned every morning by a lovely lady , fresh towels and bed linen were provided as well as toilerties etc, and tea and coffee for our use.
Room was a good size large and airy, we had table chairs and a comfy settee to relax. Location was perfect , situated in Sudder Street , lively area with markets and shops and good reasonable priced restaurants and as hotel is not directly on the street (small alley way to entrance) there is no noise disturbance at night. Also very near the Metro station 5 minutes walk away, We were in a newly refurbished part of the hotel , so if you are booking make sure you are in this new area .
We had constant hot water 24 hrs . something promised by a lot of hotels in India but very rarely happens and a lovely clean bathroom with great shower..
Breakfast was ok, juice, cereal ,toast and boiled eggs available on buffet...they cook poached,fried or scrambled eggs but you have to ask as no one tells you and there is no information or menu. A very small problem.
I loved this hotel, we were drawing to the end of our travel in India and was happy to relax here.Friendly helpful staff, If I ever return to Calcutta I would stay here !

Room Tip: When booking just make sure you are in new refurbished room. I think they may be all finished there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviaatdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Astoria hotel for 2 nights after traveling through India for 3 weeks.

The good:
- good location close to Park Street Metro, Indian Museum, about 2 km from Victoria Memorial, restaurants and shopping nearby
- professional staff at front desk in tie, good English, helpful
- elevator
- large room, fairly clean
- Great street shopping nearby

The bad:
- bathroom has an open shower so the entire floor gets wet as it runs all the way across the floor to a drain on the other side of the bathroom
- cockroach on the floor of our room when we arrived
- a little mouse running around our room
- so-so breakfast

I love Calcutta and would probably stay at Astoria again; hotel choices are somewhat limited

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mebiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel is quite good for stay and location is very good. Rooms have enough space with good cleanliness. Amenities included is good.The food quality and room service is so poor. i think its suitable for business trip only.


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Pethani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Well the experience is as fresh as yesterday, A chilly winter night in kolkata.
We had booked the hotel through Yatra.com for a ruppee as a prepayment and the rest to be paid at the time of check out. Yatra had confirmed the booking twice on previous two days.
Due to a national conference of Doctors most of the hotels were full.
As we had booked the hotel in advance we had nothing to worry; little did we know that our nightmare was about to begin.
We reached the hotel at 10.15 p.m. We showed our reservations & after checking in we were shown our 2 rooms. To our horror it was not as expected as shown in the pic; Soon we realised that this was not the room we had booked for (A friend had earlier seen the room which was in the new building; we had been given the dirtiest room of old building) the room alotted to us was given to some one else on higher tariff. The rooms were untidy with fungus and white ants on the walls.
When we confronted the receptionist he said "as you had not prepaid, this was the room you can take it or leave it". After a lot of exchange of words for half an hour he neither let us go nor gave the room we had booked or even let us stay in a single room.
The full tariff of that rooms were charged. The manager did not even talk to us on the phone.
although he was constantly in touch with the reception
Well we had to spend a terrible night there and luckily got a room somewhere the next morning.
So beware if you are booking Astoria
at your own risk

Room Tip: The whole hotel is a fraudulent place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I got this reservation for one night stay thru MMT. Saw decent reviews in TA as well. This property is located in the narrow Sudder Street. A small gate leads to the hotel from Sudder Street. The new block was very good and clean. Check in was smooth and quick. Reception staff were supportive and friendly. My single room had sufficient space to move around. Window views may not be good. So pull your window curtains and avoid views. Washrooms were clean. I felt comfortable with the room. Room service menu was boring, they dont serve fruits / deserts. They provide a simple breakfast, which was complimentary. No other issues / concerns for short stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaamVairavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#101 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Walson Spa "O" Tel
#109 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#122 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#56 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#30 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: 6/2 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing