We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #174 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed 3 nights during Durga Puja, in a single standard room in the new wing at Hotel Astoria, (booked through Cleartrip).
Well furnished & well equipped acomodation
Good breakfast spread
Pleasant staff, prompt service
Close to metro station & shopping area, yet fairly peaceful.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank U S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked my room through Agoda and got a great rate for the hotel. I had initially booked the room for only 3 nights and after the first night I knew I had a good deal so I extended for 2 more nights.

I was very pleasantly surprised to discover a VERY clean, well-kept room with conveniences such as lcd tv, safe, fridge, hot/cold running water, etc. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The location on Sudder Street is very convenient because its within walking distance of Park Street and other sites. It's very easy to get transportation right in front of the hotel.

At night, I recommend asking the staff to spray bug spray in the room and bathroom otherwise you will be swatting flies all night, particularly if the lights are left on.

Room Tip: stay in the new part of the hotel, not the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lc217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was on a business trip for a week. The hotel is located in a nice area with lots of tourist around.
Rooms are ok for a single traveller. Food is terrible go to nearby Subway outlet for dinner.
Overall experience was just little below average.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chints1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I booked this hotel through agoda. I got a very good deal and trust me this hotel is worth it. Very clean, well fabricated rooms. I have tried other hotels too, since i visit kolkata quite frequent. But this one is best in its class (so far). Very polite and co-operative staff. I think this is their new wing because the pictures i saw on this website must be from older one. So make sure to ask where you have been given room in case you book. I am not sure though if old wing is even operative now.
Location of hotel is also good. Its near to famous new market and other markets and also near to park street. Many good joints to eat, dine or drink near by. Will surely recommend this place.

Room Tip: 1. New wing 2nd, book through agoda. I asked reception why they cant give rooms at same deal. She sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brijeshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

i stayed here with two colleagues. They shared a double room and I had a single just opposite the hallway. Even though I requested a non-smoking room I got a smoking room, which had a horrible stench of old ashtrays. Nothing could be done about this. The room itself was clean. We had a hard time trying to sleep that night as two other rooms in the hallway were occupied by two families with small children wo were quite noisy 'till late at night.

Staff is a bit vague. I ordered a bottle of water through Roomservice but never received it. Instead, one of the bellboys bought me one from outside the hotel.
The location is good though, right in the city center of Kolkata, near the Newmarket area. Bars and restaurants are close by.

We moved to another hotel in Salt Lake the next day, mainly because that hotel had a swimmingpool, which the Astoria did not have, and the other hotels in the area also didn't. (except for the Oberoi, but we weren't interested in paying their hig-end prices)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackPackMaluku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

this old backpacker favorite has a new building adjacent, and it has spotless, simple rooms, and otherwise the same kindly and helpful management. the price is now a bit above backpacker but very affordable and way below the other new properties on sutter street. it is easy to make a reservation here as no deposit is required, just reconfirm often. and of course the big plus is the sutter strret location with all of the tourist services and proximity to the metro and swank park street.

Room Tip: as for the side away from the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in the newly renovated section of the hotel which was nice. The room was a bit small but was adequate for 1 person and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large clean was was the room itself. For some reason they continue to use an old entrance when they have a newly renovated lobby, so when you first enter the hotel you are very suspicious of the quality. The staff was friendly. The location on Sudder street was excellent and close to the metro and shopping areas all around. Skip the breakfast though. Down the street is Blue Sky Cafe which serves good basic food and cheap, and there is also the restaurant at the Fairmount which is also good but a bit more expensive. All in all my stay was good and is a good budget hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#43 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#40 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#179 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#57 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heera
Hotel Heera
#88 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#61 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 6/2 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing