We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best”
Review of The Best Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Best Inn
Ranked #172 of 330 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Berkeley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overall: The Best Inn was decent value for the money (not expensive and not luxurious). It's not the kind of place you want to hang out during the day; however it met our basic needs and there seem to be few comparable alternatives in the city.

Pros:
- Clean, tidy room with a large bed and big tv

Cons:
- The room we stayed in did not have a window, so it was dark and damp (look at the room before you stay!)
- The internet did not work

Room Tip: Look at the room first. Our room was on the ground floor and did not have a window so was damp and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstravels-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
16
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

It's difficult to fault this place really. It's really clean, has good modern amenities in the room, great bathrooms and functions very much like a small business hotel. The AC worked perfectly and the room also had a TV with some English channels. Our room had very limited natural light, so check the room first. The owner was professional, willing to help and organised a transfer to the airport and provided us with a map and directions to all the sights we wanted to see, however the other staff members were a little but muddled (language barrier?)

There's no restaurant on site but there is a small room service menu. We also had a complimentary breakfast brought to our room every morning and a time of our choice. We even got offered some tea on our departure despite it being early in the morning.

The hotel is walking distance from the main attractions and there's a nearby metro station too.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank danhux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Firstly, make sure you have the directions for the hotel as the taxi drivers in Calcutta don't seem to know where the famous places are, let alone little hotels, they also can't read maps, We used the prepaid taxis which are fine 260 rupees but make sure they know where they're going. The Best Inn is very clean and comfortable with a fabulous shower which is well needed after a days roaming Calcutta. They want their money up front and everything bar your bra size in their book but you get used to everywhere loving their paperwork. Even the internet cafes want passport details etc before you can use them. The location is good and the Metro is really easy and cheap to use.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZenaJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

As many other people have said, our taxi driver had a lot of problems finding this place. I can't stress enough how useful a street level map would have been when driving around asking for directions until we finally found someone that knew where the hotel was.

When we arrived they were waiting outside to help us with our luggage and we were brought in for check-in formalities (which were thorough but that's not necessarily a bad thing). Our room was the right size for what we needed, a place to sleep and leave our packs. Our room didn't have a window but in many ways that's a good thing as it keeps the noise and mosquitoes out! The showers were hot though the plug had trouble draining. In the morning we had a complimentary breakfast which wasn't amazing but filled us up. The staff were very knowledgeable and happy to help us with directions with maps included and at one point even walked us to the local taxi ranks.

This was our first hotel in India and we were glad to have somewhere nice to retreat after a hot and dusty day out in Kolkata. Would recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplemonkeyelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

What a cozy little place this was. Beautiful an nice rooms very cozy. The lighting in the whole place was very inviting. Small closets though for our huge suitcases. Lol. Food was delicious.

Helpful?
7 Thank Texasfootball1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We arrived fairly late in the evening but were helped in by the staff who were expecting us. The front of house staff did not speak much english at all, which could have proved problematic had we not read the check in requirements in advance on the website. The check in requirements were bizarrely strict. We had to pay up front for our two night stay but then had to go on to provide passport and visa photocopies along with filling in many details in a book including our fathers name and a further photo was taken of us the following morning. This all seemed quite unnecessary as we had paid up front, and they seemed quite strict and uncompromising with this time consuming process which to be honest was the last thing we wanted to do upon our late arrival.

The rooms were not cheap but were extremely clean, large comfortable beds and no shortage of hot water. We enjoyed many long, hot showers. The location was also great- very few beggars on the streets and walking distance to many attractions including the stunning Victoria Memorial.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mattbor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

As good as when we stayed 3 yrs ago. Breakfast included. Good hot water and clean linen and rooms.
No wifi but cable connection available. Close to metro and two good restaurants. Just 4 rooms .away from backpacker hassles of sudder street. A very good option if you don't want to pay big bucks.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helenc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#167 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#48 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
12.7 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#20 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
9.0 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Best Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Inn

Property: The Best Inn
Address: 1b Sushil Sen Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700025, India (Formerly The Westin)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique Guesthouse located at a short walk from Rabindra Sadan Metro Station, Victoria Memorial Gardens, Saint Paul's Cathedral, Forum Shopping Mall, Homeland Mall, Inox Cinema Multiplex, Race Course, & most Corporate Offices on Lansdowne Rd, Elgin Rd, Chowringhee Rd, Shakespeare Sarani, Camac Street, Jawaharlal nehru Rd., AJC Bose Rd. etc. Park Street can be reached via a Taxi or the Metro in about ten minutes from The Best Inn. Mother's House can be reached via a Taxi in about ten minutes. All rooms at The Best Inn have modern furniture, air-conditioning, flat screen TV (cable), internet connectivity, telephone, hot & cold water in attached bathrooms, mini fridge (in Deluxe King Room only). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Best Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Best Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing