We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero ventilation, poor service, good location”
Review of The Best Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Best Inn
Ranked #172 of 343 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Zero ventilation, poor service, good location”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for a night on the 15th of December and this is our assessment:

Pluses:
1. Great location
2. Clean sheets & bathroom

Deltas:
1. Zero ventilation - in the ground floor rooms where we stayed - 1 tiny window which opens into a wall and therefore affords no flow of air
2. Smell of pesticide overwhelmed us the night we checked in - and was compounded by the lack of ventilation
3. Zero staff courtesy / customer centricity - we were made to wait on the road for about 10 min at 11.30 PM despite having flagged that we will check-in late as the night steward refused to take our word that we had made a reservation.
4. Zero staff courtesy - the night steward refused to give us access to our room till the check-in entry was completed & only relented when we re-iterated that we had a 4m old daughter waiting out in the cold

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebestinn, Manager at The Best Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Inn at Kolkata, India.

I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient and appreciated our high levels of cleanliness.

All Rooms at The Best Inn have windows of varying sizes depending upon room category. However, since our Guesthouse is located on the Ground Floor we do not have windows with a view.

Our sincere apologies for the lingering faint odor of pesticide in the lobby from the pest control treatment that was done that morning. We are in talk with our service provider to use chemicals that do not leave behind a lingering odor.

There is a slight misrepresentation of facts in this review regarding our staff. Upon personally investigating this matter I found out that while the staff made an exception to the rule by handing over the room keys to the Guest before completion of check-in formality so that the wife and baby of the Guest could rest in the room; upon getting the room keys the Guest refused to comply with standard check-in procedure & refused to fill up the Guest Register & have their pictures clicked at the time of check-in. Please note that local law enforcement authorities have mandated all hotels and guesthouses to upload all guest information along with guest pictures onto their online database. This may take a few minutes of your time at the time of check-in but it in-turn ensures safety of the citizens of our city. We request all our Guests to co-operate with the Staff during check-in.

I would like to assure all our Guests that courteousness and humility towards our Guests are the two pillars on which our entire business stands and we would never compromise on customer satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
16
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in December. As it was our first stop in India after flying overnight we felt like paying more than the 'typical' backpacker budget also didn't want too crazy or noisy a location. The best inn was perfect on these criteria.

Very helpful and friendly staff, not pushy or looking for commission. Room was comfortable, bathroom was best we've seen in India with never ending hot water and a spotless decor.

Only negative was the distance from main centre but this meant area was hassle free and quiet. Two stops from park street on metro which is safe and clean.

Thanks Best Inn four welcoming us to India!

Phil and Emma, england

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phildobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at The Best Inn for only two nights, but had all our needs catered for by the incredibly helpful manager who gave us his cell number so we could contact him even out of hours (because the other member of staff's english was very basic and my Bengali is non-existent!) Hotel is in excellent location, 5 minutes from the nearest Metro, Rabindra Sadan (which is 10 mins to Park Street), rooms are very very clean, shower was excellent and breakfast was served in the room on time both mornings! This hotel offered excellent value for somewhere so central. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in Kolkata (which, incidentally is a great place with very nice people and even better food). One of the city's drawbacks is the lack of decent, clean hotels at reasonable prices. My room at The Best Inn was perfectly OK, with a good shower room, internet access and a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, there are no windows, meaning that the rooms are rather dark. Mine also smelled strongly of paint. Still, I've stayed in much worse places in the past, the staff were incredibly helpful and the breakfast of masala chai, toast and omelettes is a really good start to the day. And honestly, there's so much to see and do in Kolkata that you're not likely to want to be in your room during daylight hours anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subcontinental_Drift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This was my first trip to India and so I was a little apprehensive about the Best Inn given the fantastic price, but it was super! It was about thirty minutes from the airport and cost us about £3.50 in a prepaid taxi that we booked at the airport. We printed out a map of the hotel location from the Best Inn website which proved useful.

The room was spacious and well maintained. The bathroom and bed linen were very clean and there was plenty of storage space. Our room also had a goodly sized TV with lots of channels to choose from.

The manager and other hotel staff were superb: really obliging.

We enjoyed a modest, but very acceptable breakfast in our room every morning (delicious eggs). This made for a really relaxing start to the day. And, we could order a coffee from room service any time (30 p!!).

We took advantage of the very reasonably priced laundry service too and all of our clothes were returned to us promptly and nice and clean - what a boon!

We booked our room months in advance but all the adminitration of our stay was dealt with efficiently on arrival and filling in the huge, hotel ledger with its fawn marble edged pages was very quaint!

If the large units in our room had been given a good ol' dust, would have given this 5 stars.
What a fantastic find: splendid service, comfortable stay, fantastic value. Would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank YorkshireAndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

the rooms here were clean and ours was spacious (room 103). the guest who stayed here before us left some sweat pants and boxer shorts behind the door and the staff hadn't noticed... beakfast is basic and don't expect what you ordered - the let down of this place is that the staff speak next to no english so it is very diffucult even asking for simply things. otherwise it's a good place to stay. taxis aren't too expensive if you get the driver to turn on the meter (starts at 10 rupees). when you stop at your destination double the fare shown on the meter then add 2 rupees. tip we picked up whilst we were here! we also recommend dining at BBQ restaurant on park st. amazing service and fresh, delcious food.

Room Tip: our room (103) was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g_t_stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebestinn, Front Office Manager at The Best Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear g_t_stephens

Thank you for staying at The Best Inn during your visit to Kolkata, India.

I would like to convey my sincere apologies to you for not being able to welcome you to The Best Inn at the time of your check-in on a Sunday and for any inconvenience caused in communicating with the housekeeping staff who took care of your check-in in my absense.

I would like to assure you that we at the Front Desk at The Best Inn speak fluent English and have even been complimented for the same in several past reviews. I am delighted to hear that you liked the clean, spacious, and restful rooms at our boutique guesthouse. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards,
Chaitanya Jog
Front Desk Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Basic but clean (if you don't move the furniture) hotel that is relatively central and good alternative to Sudder Street. Manager/Receptionist is helpful with good English although when he isn't about it's a struggle. You get breakfast in room but the downside is there is no communal area if you don't want to be in your room.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.5 mi away
Bengal Inn
Bengal Inn
#61 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#51 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,069 reviews
12.7 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#20 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
635 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#47 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Best Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Inn

Property: The Best Inn
Address: 1b Sushil Sen Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700025, India (Formerly The Westin)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique Guesthouse located at a short walk from Rabindra Sadan Metro Station, Victoria Memorial Gardens, Saint Paul's Cathedral, Forum Shopping Mall, Homeland Mall, Inox Cinema Multiplex, Race Course, & most Corporate Offices on Lansdowne Rd, Elgin Rd, Chowringhee Rd, Shakespeare Sarani, Camac Street, Jawaharlal nehru Rd., AJC Bose Rd. etc. Park Street can be reached via a Taxi or the Metro in about ten minutes from The Best Inn. Mother's House can be reached via a Taxi in about ten minutes. All rooms at The Best Inn have modern furniture, air-conditioning, flat screen TV (cable), internet connectivity, telephone, hot & cold water in attached bathrooms, mini fridge (in Deluxe King Room only). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Best Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Best Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing