We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kolkata (Calcutta)
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Second visit and review

This is my second visit to this place. This time we opted to travel by car and the roads are still... read more

Reviewed February 25, 2018
aribis87700
,
Mumbai, India
via mobile
A Break from City Life

The journey to this place is as much fascinating as is the place itself. This place is reachable... read more

Reviewed May 13, 2016
aribis87700
,
Mumbai, India
Read all 6 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kolkata (Calcutta)
from $180.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveler rating
1
2
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
1
2
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2018

Loknath Temple this temple is on of the best temple at kolkata i like this temple .we visit this temple

Date of experience: April 2018
6  Thank Dipprokash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

This is my second visit to this place. This time we opted to travel by car and the roads are still bumpy and bad. Nothing much has changed. The same simple process of puja, the structure seems to have a recent paint work done and so has the wall graffiti (how I wish people learn to respect the sanctity of this place)

There is two queues for bhog (community lunch) This time we opted for the higher priced ticket for RS. 65/- per person. A takeaway option is available at 70 bucks too. Our experience was not that great here. As opposed to sitting on the ground in other bhog, you are made to sit in wooden benches and food is served in plates made out of leaves. It is not that organized and we found out that kids were made to sit alone away from there mother's even though there were empty benches around. We didn't face this problem in our earlier visit when sat on the ground for lunch. The staff was pretty rude and said if you want them to sit together you will need to stand in the queue again. We were served kitchdi (rice & lentils cooked together) which they said was served to baba loknath, fried rice, potato curry, payasam and tomato chutney.

Apart from this incident the trip was excellent and relaxing. We brought date palm jaggery which is made only in this season.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank aribis87700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016

The journey to this place is as much fascinating as is the place itself.

This place is reachable by Bus, car or train. But the best journey (although rough) is from Guma station to Chakla. We rode a contraption, known as ‘Chakra’ (motorvan). Fare Rs.20/- per person from Guma to Chakla, or you can drop off at Badar, and take a ride in overstuffed vans to Chakla

‘Chakra’ or the motor van is basically the front part of a heavy motorcycle attached to a wooden plank with two tires. Can you believe riding in the open with as much as 8 + passenger with no shock absorbers in a dusty uneven road? That’s an adventure by itself, not to mention the beautiful fields and ponds on the way.

After a back breaking long ride, we finally reached the temple. The location is serene and calm (at least early in the morning). Shoes are not allowed inside the premises. There is a dedicated room to place your foot wear just outside the gate. We took some flowers and sweets as offerings. One needs to hand over the flowers & sweets to the priest for the prayer, which is handed over back again after the ritual.

Facts about the temple: It’s a temple in remembrance of Sri Lokenath. It is believe that he had appeared in the Chakla village in 1137. His teachings are tolerance to all religions and faith. And that all I know about this place.

Caution: Don’t wear western clothes, although jeans & T shirts are fine. Do not be taken for a ride by beggars or stall owners. If you wish to donate, donate it in the donation box or there is an office which gives receipt for the same. It is eligible for tax deduction U/S 80G. Usual a gold tip or bindi (small round gold plates) are given as offerings. Donate these in the office only and acquire a receipt, or else they are swindled.

Must Do: 1) Take a Selfie. You just can’t miss that. The vicinity is surrounded with Jackfruit, mango & litchi trees. Carry your own water and disposable spoons.
2) Enjoy the simple community lunch offered. Food is served in the afternoon. There is a ticketing system for that. Rajbhog will cost you Rs.60/-, which is the actual food offered to GOD. Kichuribhog will cost you Rs.20/- which is a preparation of rice & lentils. They serve payash (Sweet dish made of rice & milk) as well. You can also take a parcel back home for Rs.65/- Food served is unlimited.
3) Enjoy tender coconut. Will cost you around Rs.20 although dependent on size. You will also get fresh veggies there. Right from the farm.
4) Most of all relax. Let the city life be behind you. You will feel one with nature.

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank aribis87700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015

Have visited this place a number of times... absolutely divine. Very close to kolkata airport.. teghoria to be precise. Beautiful architecture as well...

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank Ashmita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015

I've been a true believer in Baba Lokenath for last several decades, and I used to visit many temples in and around Kolkata. But Baba's real birth-place (Chakla) and his growing-up place (Kochua) exceeds any levels in terms of spiritual uplifting. Drive down E.M. Byepass from south and take the Nicco Park flyover to go to Secto V, and then take the shortcut through Rajarhat and Sashan into Deganga, thereby avoiding the traffic at Barasat. Its only a couple of hours drive from Gariahat, and I can guarantee that you'll fall in love with either of these holy places. There's no demands from priests or vendors, and complete sanctity is maintained by the Trust. Have lunch from either the temple or from the several eateries located across the main gate of the temple.

Date of experience: April 2015
22  Thank Dipeeta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews