We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Housez-43

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Housez-43
Ranked #178 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good hotel... Located at Park Street... Your not too far from the main action... Friendly staff... Makes u feel comfortable... Organises a buffet breakfast in the morning... Rooms are decently done up...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnandTalreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed here a ten days, and felt very comfortable. The rooms are a little over my budget, but I got a nice discount being a single. female traveller.

The rooms are superclean, the wifi stable and fast, the food in the restaurant very tasty. The room I had had a big bed, a closet, a small desk and chair, and AC (very efficient) and fan. The hotel is placed near Park hotel, and is a good place for seing central sightseeing spots, its near Mother Theresa center too, if you are volunteering, and a fwe minutes walk from the Sudder street (backpackers area).

The management were fast and helpful. The room was very quiet, and a superb place to rest from the hustle and bustle outside. Tip the staff. They are really doing a great job! Especially the doorman!

Room Tip: Have a look at the different options, I first saw a smaller room, that was nice, but more crammed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago, then again some months back.
Expensive charges compare to quality of services and room.
Most of the guests are from Bangladesh.
The most funny part is morning breakfast at rooftop. Very unhygienic food was served and replenishment was quite slow.
The only good point is the location....central and handy.
Ultimately not a good deal at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamal707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple years ago, then again recently. I think it's a bit expensive for the quality offered. The quality of the breakfast food has declined quite a bit though it's nice to eat on the rooftop. Ask for an interior room as some of the rooms around the outside can be very noisy. The location is central and handy. The rooms are clean which is important. The security is very good. Some of the front desk staff are more helpful than others. I appreciated the daily newspapers on offer. On the whole, an acceptable hotel but the rates are a bit expensive for what's offered.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room which is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here because I had no other option to be fair the hotel is located in a prime location... walking distance from the park st metro.... it has nice rooms.. but the one given to me was really small..and cramped..on the good side it has amenities like a mini fridge and a good working ac..the restroom was ok clean but again tiny sink ..less space to keep ones toiletries.


The service is horrible..they take ages to get even a bottle of water (took them 20 minutes) to get me mine and around 40 minutes to get a simple omelet toast with coffee.

The MAIN issue is ..there is a woman.. i assume the manager and she seems to have a very arrogant and horrible attitude.. the person at the reception and her were constantly bickering away that too in front of the customer... (which is me) ... while checking in when I asked to see the room before paying she sent the waiter with me and spoke in the local language ( bengali) assuming I do not know..' keep him there only dont get him here again it is disturbing) i na rude tone.. though I had spoken to her once itself.. the next day while checking out...when I came to make my payment she again asked me to wait..in a sitting lounge ( which had no fan or ac working) again in a rude tone...this SHOULD NOT be how hospitality staff should behave it is VERY putting off and one of the main reasons I left that hotel and shall recommend people not to go there is because of this horrible behaviour ...that too at the main reception!

Room Tip: The big rooms ..do not ACCEPT the SMALL rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SktPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great Service ... Excellent rooms... Helpful staff.. Clean rooms and linen... Awesome food... Walk able distance to Park Street Metro, Indian Museum, Sudder Street, Park Street, New Market. Free Breakfast is good... but get in early.. as they do not keep the inventory flowing for food till the end. Stayed 2 nights in May .,.. made my visit a lot cooler!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in walking distance from prime shopping spots though the surrounding area is quite dirty. My room was good enough for me & my wife. Hotel interior is well decorated & clean. Staffs are well behaved but u'll have to call the reception to get the house keeping, they never answer the phone! Breakfast has been ok but dont expect much variations. Overall its a good budget hotel with some minor improvement areas.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adnanrafiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
The Corporate
The Corporate
#163 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dee Empresa Hotel
Dee Empresa Hotel
#39 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#174 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#40 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#43 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heera
Hotel Heera
#88 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Housez-43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Housez-43

Address: 43 Mirza Ghalib Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $38 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Housez-43 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Housez- 43, the art of gracious living is practiced to perfection. As you enter you will experience the elegance and warm hospitality. The refreshing and retro colors are sure to allure you. In fact the thoughtful detail is what makes your stay in Hotel Housez-43 a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Housez-43 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Housez-43 India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing