We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green island in heart of busy city.”
Review of Tollygunge Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tollygunge Club
Ranked #47 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Guest house of Tolly club is nice place to stay. Tolly club itself is green island and the guest house is in the center of this island. Very quiet place. Only thing that you hear is some music that might be on in the club house. On both sides of guest house are golf greens. If you go there in taxi you can reach inside but for getting out you have to walk almost 300 meters to the gate or request desk guys to call taxi from out side. Metro station is next door just 200 meters as crow flies but you have to walk about 800 meters to walk.

The room is of standard size, with required amenities. The bathrooms have good dressing area attached. But bathrooms are not very well ventilated and flushing system in water closet is not very efficient. Room itself is well ventilated with large window having fly mesh shutters.

For breakfast you have to go to one of the restaurants in the club in another building. This may not prove to be convenient if it is raining. Breakfast spread is limited but sumptuous. Waiters are attentive and happy to serve you. For other food you have options of eating at any of the four restaurants and bar that are good and reasonable in pricing.

You have free access to swimming pool, gym and tennis facilities. I did not checked whether free access is there for golf and horse riding.

People at desk and other helpers are quick, helpful and attentive. Tipping is strictly prohibited.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canpush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Tollygunge Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Old British club...the best in Kolkata! Good room, good bathroom, swimming pool & gym facilities & excellent buffet that comes with the room booking - what more luxury can one ask for? And very reasonably priced drinks at the beautiful bar or delivery to the room. And, the very best of continental food at the dining room. Sheer luxury in the lap of nature that it's actually with great reluctance that one steps out of the property for work!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the golf course
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Tolly is an institution in Kolkata which tries to maintain a sense of old British club tradition. Some nice green scenery around the club makes you feel worlds apart from busy Kolkata. There are a lot of facilities guests can enjoy such as the swimming pool, golf, horse riding, squash, tennis, spa, etc... There is a nice feeling of nostalgia when going through some of those buildings which have seen better days.
We stayed there three nights as guests of a wedding and had a great time. The food at the reception was excellent but we were less impressed by the breakfast and dinner we had at the belvedere restaurant. Although our room was a bit dated with pretty hard bedding, it was quite spacious. We also saw that some other rooms had undergone renovation and were much better standard than ours. Minus points for the internet, impossible to use properly and staff could be more welcoming. Overall, nice place to stay, especially if you are into golf or horse riding.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor and suites on the first floor are very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nouribz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had registered in this place on the 8th night. We were informed by our client that the place is one of the best in Kolkata. As we were new to this place we had agreed to this rather than a hotel. We had 2 single rooms for four nights. The troubles started the same day, when we went for dinner. It turned out to be a buffet, but with extremely very limited selection. And to make matters worse, there was not even one product which was medium spicy. The chili seems to be cheap in this place. The soup, the main course etc was all spicy to the maximum extend.

Then back to room, the free WiFi never seems to be connecting. We called and complained to the reception. Neither me nor my colleague could the connection working on the laptop, ipad nor the smart phones. The guys were not even a bit helpful. They were not even willing to come up to the room to resolve it. Their take was come down to reception and we will try to resolve the issue.

Next day morning (9th), another buffet breakfast. Fried Paneer, Pork Sausage, omelette, and bread. Nothing else. So if you are not interested in bread, leave. Back to the rooms after meetings at 9:30 pm and there was only warm water in the pipe. Didn't have the energy to face another dinner there. The toilet flush started to act funny. No one comes to repair it.

10th morning. No warm water even to take a bath. Complained to the reception and they informed to keep the taps open for 20-30 minutes and they were not even willing to accept the fact there is no hot water. Kept it open for long period. Nothing happened. Called again and they were getting pissed off. Informed us to wait for the hot water as and when it will come. We were getting late for meetings and now was on verge on accepting any option. So took a bath in the cold water. We decided to move out of the place as we were facing delays in meetings. We packed up everything and informed the reception we were moving out. To add insult to injury the guy in the reception informed us they were not putting penalty on us for moving out earlier than the booked days. As if we were at mistake for their short comings.

The club was built at the time of the British and was well managed by them. The current , management wants make it look as if it's still under the British management, but falls very short of it. First ensure the rooms are in good conditions. Start with the basic before you try bigger stunts. Maybe it's good for people who comes for a break, doesn't want the disturbance from daily hassles like telephone, internet etc. But definitely not for people coming into Kolkata for business.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skele2on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The 100 acre club grounds boast an 18 hole golf course. Most of the club's sporting activities are closed on Monday so be careful and plan your travel accordingly. It has facilities like Restaurant, Squash, Bar, Swimming, Gym, Tennis, Horse Riding. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean but I found the beds a little uncomfortable to sleep on. There's no room service after 9:30 PM so I felt that the club rooms and service could improve slightly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frqttraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

As usual, the other reviews that I read about "Tolly" are quite accurate.

The "Club Culture" is quite interesting in India. I was fortunate to be able to visit a number of clubs, and Tolly definitely stands out.

My room, specifically the bathroom was not as modern as I would have hoped. The business center is helpful to know about, and is staffed with someone to help you.

The property is indeed a respite from the hustle and noise of the streets.
I am not accustomed to seeing some of the signs about where "domestic help" can stay, sit, park, etc.
The food was good, and I appreciated the many different dining and bar options.

Wifi was not consistent -- but I understand that this happens sometimes
I could see how this property might have had better days -- and from what I understand, they are doing a lot of work to update the facilities, and restore some of original grandeur.
It helped to have friends that were members...
The front desk/office staff were helpful, but know that you have to go to them.
I found that the more I shared where I stayed with people in the U.S. and Europe -- many people had friends and family connections to "the club."
I can definitely see myself returning on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights in this oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Kolkata. Lovely rooms with full bathroom and ample cupboard space. Free Wifi is a plus too. With the room comes usage of all club facilities, like pool (inside and out), golf course etc. Various eateries and bars most of which are closed on Mondays. There is a spa offering Ayurveda treatments too.

Room Tip: Try the Indian breakfast options but you might need to add another sachet or two of instant coffee t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,663 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#185 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#6 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treebo Globe International
Treebo Globe International
#36 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
87 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#26 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollygunge Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollygunge Club

Address: 120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Tollygunge Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tollygunge Club India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing