We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world "charm"”
Review of Tollygunge Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tollygunge Club
Ranked #43 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a light lunch at the club which was very average and was pestered for a tip. However the club is what you would expect a pre Independence Calcutta club to be slow, scenic and stuffy. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 129 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

The vast expanse of green that greets you as your enter the hallowed and exclusive portals of the Tolygunge Club is but the first of many pleasant surprises that await. The restaurants are top-notch,the cotttages and rooms well maintained in spite of an evidently ageing building structure and the service adequate, though there is some room for improvement.

Room Tip: The cottages are far better than the rooms in the main building. If you must stay in the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I quite liked the feel of the Tollygunge Club on arrival, I didn't mind that it was all a bit tired looking and a bit shabby, that was kind of cool. What I did mind was the awful service, the rude staff and the ridiculous rules.

About 4 people helped me up with my bags, without actually helping with the bags and then stood in my room waiting to be tipped. When we bought two beers to take away the staff ran after us expecting a tip. The western food in the restaurant was dreadful, choose Chinese or go to the Indian restaurant where the food was superb and cheap, just don't look to closely at the tablecloths.

The room was spacious if a little charmless. The free wifi was fast.

Breakfast was poor, again the staff rude and not much choice, again the Indian food was the best option.

Lots of rules about what you can and cant wear in the restaurant or to the pool or the gym - we'd been staying in some extremely expensive hotels which didn't have rules like these. THe worst was about wearing swimming caps in the pool and then not providing them, the pool was full of bird poo!!!

I think this club probably used to be very good, I dont know how long it can rely on using its past to pretend its as good as it used to be. If the hotel were to spend some money on it and review the staff and rules and this place could be a gem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TouringMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tolly Club (as this is popularly known) - club that has its origin in the British era still proudly lives its colonial past - big rooms, club with all that you can ask for, nice view of the golf course - will surely take you back by 80 years.
Definitely not the place if you are a gizmo fream and expect all the modern gadgets to be a part of your room.
I would recommend this place for a lavish stay in a colonial property, where you live more like a "Sahib", and go back another 70-80 years to experience Kolkata's colonial past

Room Tip: try to get the cottage - more comfortable than the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMITRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have just completed my third stay at the Tollygunge Club in Kolkatta ...... and I am not impressed.

I stayed in one of the cottages and this was fine - the room is old but pleasant with great views over the golf course, sheets were clean, room maintained Ok and there was lots of hot water ...... but it was the staff that upset me.

The room boy waited for 10 minutes in my looking for a tip after dropping my bags to the room .... I always tip .... not a large amount but when service is given I believe you should tip ..... but I detest it when the body language and behavior of the room boy demands such..... then definitely no tip..... All of the staff behaved in this manner.

The major disaster was dining at Belvedere Restaurant ..... Caesar Salad was order and I got a garden salad, when asked for correct food was told even though it was in the menu that kitchen did not know how to make it ..... next the French Onion Soup - the cheese on the crouton you could use a retread for your car tires ..... and onions must have been expensive this week as there were nearly none in the light brown creation of the kitchen. Then onto the roast pork main course ..... this was sliced pork roll of some sort covered with lumpy gravy and a few steamed vegetables - no resemblance to roast pork - tasteless. To top this off with five waiters and nearly empty dining room the service was very bad. The fresh bread rolls were nice though.

Breakfast the next morning was no better...... I got to the dining room at 9.30am .... nearly all of the tables were not cleared from the previous guests, the buffet was less than basic ..... and it took 3 requests and 20 minutes to get 2 fried eggs accompanied by cold potatoes that were supposed to be hash browns and grilled tomatoes covered in a sweetened sause - all which were stone cold. Bacon was also swimming in oil ..... Breakfast my favorite meal was ruined.....

This Club has the best setting in Kolkatta .... and could be great is someone looked at the food quality and the service.

My previous visit I dinned in the Indian Restaurant and the service lacked but the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building rooms as they have been refurbished recently. Much nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KelIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Tollygunge is one of the classic locations in India, and this was my third visit over many years. The old lady is showing her years, and is in dire need of some refurbishment - to facilities and staffing. Food in the main restaurant was excellent, but that in the outdoor buffet was only so-so. Service varied from friendly to hopeless. Our room was in the old-fashioned bungalows, and whilst spacious, they really need to be brought up to date. The location is still unrivalled in Kolkata, but unless you play golf or bridge, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The location and greenery anound gives it different charm!. For those who have not been to Kolkota- well this is supposed to be top most club in Kolkota and boasts off a lovely golf course. The course fee is quite reasonable. As this a exclusive club: one can book stay with the help of an existing member and in some cases, outsiders are also allowed to stay.
The club is more than 100 year old and and you can see quite " Raj " kind of regal ambiance.
Sadly, the service is apalling... the waiters will do what is bare minimum required. Orders take more than 45 minutes to come. Good part: The prices at which food and liquer is serrved is shockingly low!
Room size: Though I did not stay, but did look at the rooms and rooms are quite large with high ceilings (Cottage type). Rooms are reasonaby well mainainted ( this is an old structure).
I think this can become a great place if rooms are improved a bit more ( make more modern.. ) and the club needs to improve SERVICE for Sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank askmore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.8 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#200 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
25 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#80 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,064 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treebo Globe International
Treebo Globe International
#37 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
95 reviews
8.1 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#11 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollygunge Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollygunge Club

Address: 120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Tollygunge Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tollygunge Club India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing