We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“City of Joy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest House in Kolkata

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House in Kolkata
Navi Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“City of Joy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Kolkata, the city of joy. From hotel we have good transportation and connectivity of tram, bus and metro.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank avgode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

My partner and I stayed there for 3 nights. Location is quite central in Kolkata but not so noisy at night. Kolkata metro is at walking distance and Rashbehari shopping avenue is just next street. The owner Mr Dhatta is very friendly and helpful. There is a common lounge for the guests which can be used as leisure area for relaxing and, as in my case, playing instruments.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — too little light in the room and lounge
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sitarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

wonderful place to stay if you're looking for homely atmosphere and excellent service. well located near all the best malls make it even more convenient.

I would recommend you to try it out if you're looking for an affordable place!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — nothing! :)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Apoorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

I love this place. Can't wait to go back. All the staff are great. :)
Miss them loads! They're so helpful and sound. Rooms are nice too. Would definitely recommend it. Great location as well.

  • Liked — Staff and rooms
  • Disliked — no elevators!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbielovesIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
6.0 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#22 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.2 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#35 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
#14 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#23 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House in Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House in Kolkata

Property: Guest House in Kolkata
Address: Saltlake Sector V | Near Technopolis kolkata 105, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is a very safe, ideal for families place or business trip, which is near to all transportation and shopping and office areas, yet without any noise. Rowdy and rude people, or people with expectations of 5 star at the cost of a guest house are not welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House In Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Guest House In Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing