We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New to Kolkata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 233 Park Street
Ranked #31 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New to Kolkata”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very nice rooms in the heart of Kolkota. All rooms are in real Bengali style! clean and efficient. Excellent customers' service. Very good wifi. No facilities (restaurant, bar and so on). Breakfast only in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filosofia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    51
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
32
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spent one night at 223 Park in early January, 2014. The taxi from the airport had no idea how yo find the hotel, even with the address, and I would advise having their phone number available. Everyone at this small hotel was welcoming, ftom the doorman to the lovely woman at the desk and the friendly owner. They helped with directions and a restaurant suggestion and even helped me cross the street to get there after dark (my vision is not good). My room was nicely furnished and quiet, and the breakfast was very good. The location adjacent to Park Street was very convenient, and the return trip to the airport with a knowledgeable driver was easy. I can't think of a better place to stay in Kolkata.

Room Tip: All the too s are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanmarie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family of 5 adults loved this chic new boutique hotel loaded with Indian charm! Cool, clean and comfortable with stately Indian-style beds, lovely lighting fixtures and contemporary bathroom fixtures. Just a good walk from Mother House and the South Park Cemetary, both Kolkata musts! Run by a team of 2 savvy young professionals who pride themselves in providing a personalized service, this made all the difference in our stay. Okay, so the dining room is not yet completed (due to all the red tape required in restoring of this small heritage building), but the delicious hot breakfast promptly served in-room at the designated time well made up for it, and enabled us to maximize our site-seeing time. Do take up Balu (or his brother's) suggestion for a good Indian restaurant to eat with the locals. Great way experience the real India! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I came to Kolkata with my fiance and family from Australia to specifically shop for my upcoming wedding and wanted to be centrally located on Park Street and be close to the saree and jewellery shops around the city.

Hotel 233 Park Street was the perfect choice for my partner and my family who I was travelling with, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and anything we needed was arranged including airport transfers, hire of a driver for the day, and recommendations for some of the best restaurants, sightseeing and general not to miss experiences around the city. The hotel itself is a small beautiful boutique hotel within a heritage building which has been well restored and exemplifies the 'Jaminder' aesthetic. It was a welcome sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Park Street Circus which is a very busy intersection, however within walking distance to shops and saree boutiques and directly opposite Arsalan, one of the best Mughlai restaurants in town (not to mention extremely affordable and has some of the best 'firni' aka rice pudding that I have ever tasted!). The breakfast and chai served in the rooms were absolutely delicious too, very authentic like paratha and aloo bhajis...yum!

I would highly recommend 233 Park Street for a stay in Kolkata if you are after something unique, personalised and in the heart of the city (just in case you are unaware it's not quiet in Park Circus!).

Room Tip: I would say choose the rooms away from the street towards the back as it is a little noisy in the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

In august i stayed wid my wife ...at 233 park st hotel.our experiences about the hotel was excellent! hotel was so conveniently located.very romantic vintage look of the room of dis hotel enchanted both of us! we celebrated our birth day with all staffs even owner also.it was a grt experience..cant explained!! we were fully satisfied wid warm hospitality.last of all thanks to the owner Mr agarwal nd all staffs fr there warm touch!both the agrawal bhaiyas are grt.bul i have one complent abt the room in which i had stayed.there is so much outside noise of generator or probably the water motor above that room.bhaiya u should look after that noise.i highly appreciate this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solobaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a little gem in the heart of the amazing city of Kolkota. I arrived well after midnight and was met by one of the owners and immediately shown to my room so I could rest. The room was small but comfortable and clean with great wifi. My room was at back of hotel so traffic noise was not an issue. The two brothers who run the hotel were very helpful and gave me excellent advice about all aspects of Kolkota and went above and beyond to ensure I had what I needed ( ATM, best South Indian food in kolkota, taxis, getting my SIM card, you name it). As a solo female traveler I felt safe and well looked after during my stay. Thank you for making my arrival into Kolkota such a smooth experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakinilor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

When traveling, I usually look for small, "boutiquey" hotels with great service and location. Having been to India before, I have been in places where even the 5-star hotels are not up to mark (which is also true of hotels in other countries as well).

233 Park Street is a good hotel with excellent service by its staff and its managers/owners. Being female travelers, the manager was ever so helpful with information we needed and assistance whenever required. Although true that it gets noisy (as the hotel is located at a busy intersection), my friend and I were not bothered by it at all and soaked up the real Indian atmosphere and culture outside. At night, the noise does die down quite a bit and we slept so peacefully throughout the night.

The hotel was clean, breakfast was great and served in our room (home-cooked feel), and transportation was not difficult. Being on Park Street gives one walking distance access to so many restaurants and Arsalan restaurant right across the street was also great. Had no problems getting to and from airport from hotel as the manager booked a private taxi for us (really advisable as the hotel is new and some taxi drivers may find it difficult to find the hotel at night).

Highly recommended (but only for the not-fussy traveler) and will come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#27 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Fortuna
Hotel Casa Fortuna
#23 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#17 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#39 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 233 Park Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 233 Park Street

Property: Hotel 233 Park Street
Address: Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 233 Park Street 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL 233 PARK STREET - A Vintage BoutiqueThe Inspiration - Recapturing the old world charmsKolkata's cultural heritage can be traced back to multiple influences and that too via manifold threads. Whether as a domain under the Sultunate and ruled by Nawabs or as THE most significant center of trade and commerce during the British Raj, the city resonates with almost palpable historical vibes with its roads and buildings, mansions and meadows and lakes and gardens. The reign of the Zamindars further witnessed a fable like rise in luxury and opulence.The zamindars or the landlords not just merely amassed wealth but also indulged in a lifestyle that had left indelible marks not only in their living rooms in the old mansions but also in the prevailing culture of the city, its cuisine and even the customs of hospitality.Hotel 233 Park Street - A destination, back in timeKeeping in tune with the rich culture and lifestyle of Kolkata, Hotel 233 Park Street is much more than a hospitality endeavor targeted at providing accommodations for the guests and patrons. Located right on the seven point crossing in Park Circus, the hotel stands like a haven where the old world, with all its ways and charms, rests sheltered within its walls. This vintage boutique hotel, placed in the ground floor of an imposing Colonial mansion is a result of a cherished idea by its owner, a passionate antique collector himself, to offer not only the best in comfort and amenities, but also a slice of the city's cultural history to make one's vacation in Kolkata truly memorable.Right from the copper lined brass canopy above the front door to the dome shaped lobby and reception area, history comes alive within these walls unlike any other hotel in Kolkata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 233 Park Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 233 Park Street India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing