We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Indian hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Apple Boutique Hotel
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First Indian hotel experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here twice. First stay, we arrived around 1 am after the front gates were locked and had to awake the security guard to let us in. If everything hadn't been arranged by our Indian guide, I wouldn't have stayed. (Arriving at night from Kolkata airport is a completely different experience than arriving during the day.) We shared a double bed, everything was clean and the room was fairly spacious. The room had a kettle and enough room for us to put our luggage and unpack a bit.
The Sudder St area is noisy all night long, so arrive exhausted & bring ear plugs :) The windows open to narrow lanes/ very close to adjacent buildings. Room fan and A/C worked fine.
Our second stay was awful. The hotel was full and we all had tiny rooms, so difficult to open our luggage. We had the room next to the lounge on the main floor (NOT recommended). Shower wasn't working properly, nor was h/w.
Each time, we had rooms with private bathrooms and did not experience bed bugs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplySusan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    27
    7
    24
See reviews for
18
17
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff Arjun and Atiq are disrespectful to customers. Misbehaves badly and tells lies to lure customers.
The below incident has happened to me several times but this time it was really intolerable. We are coming to this hotel since it's inception and have earlier recommended it to friends and family but will no longer do so.
Every time we come we call several days ahead and ask for a certain type of room and Arjun says come it will be available but when we arrive he says that it is not available and to take rooms at higher range or the lower ones which are too small. You practically hit the wall coming off the bed.Several times to avoid hassles we have taken the room but this morning 28 the February after speaking to him several times earlier and also last night when we arrived we see the room is not available and he and Atiq says take it or leave it! What kind of customer service is this. When we wanted to speak to the manager/ owner they say he is not available. After traveling for long if this happens it's a total shame!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ssft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Bombay, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hi,
I stayed at Golden Apple twice during my Sundarbans and North East trip. The hotel has small cozy rooms which are clean and tidy.
There are few problems that needs immediate attention;-
1. The booking is a nightmare. I had to call 3 times to check availability for every booking.
2. The staff are genuinely "not interested" in having tourists in their hotels, as the reception staff are very rude and not courteous at all.
3. The windows open up to a shanty clad pre historic rusty building and since the hotel is on the road, the area is very noisy and can get claustrophobic.
I would recommend looking around for other options in that price range.

Room Tip: Chose on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AasifW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was there in July and the temperature was driving me crazy. I moved in from another hotel and was stunned by the cool air in the lobby. Can you imagine the feeling? The best air conditioning at sudder street EVER! I'm a budget traveller and the single bed dorm at the top floor was of a great worth. Also air conditioned for only 500Rs/night (cheap enough compared with those 1000+Rs AC rooms). I'll go back to Kolkata in the near future and will definitely stay there again. The shared shower rooms need some repairing and maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevexiao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ko phangnan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

It took us a while to check in and thankfully one of the front desk clerks was very helpful. We were told no rooms by multiple different people yet we had one saved for us by the one helpful desk clerk. It seemed we were not welcomed by anyone but this one clerk and the friendly porter. Once we finally got to our room it was a pleasure. A.c, fan, hot water, clean sheets and nice room. Kind of spendy but worth it considering the other options on Sudder street.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the rooms before you stay anywhere, and be careful of your valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpeacelovecircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The first night we arrived in Kolkata at midnight by train. We had called the day before to make a booking by phone but once we got there they said that they had our booking but no available rooms so we were forced to wander the streets and settle for much more expensive accommodation. We stayed in the cubicles another night and the bathrooms were never cleaned during the 2 nights we were there and the shower stalls were frosted but not quite enough. My friend and I didn't feel very comfortable with the amount of male visitors coming into the bathroom while we were showering and how much we were covered. Additionally, the cubicles had not been cleaned when we were taken to them so we had to wait while they changed the sheets, no other cleaning was done, the last person's trash was still in there. The walls of the cubicle do not go to the ceiling so it is like staying in one big room with partitions. Overall, the location is great and the cubicles are the cheapest you will come by so it was okay...but definitely nothing to brag about at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlmbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for a good price, the staff are nice and friendly and managed to help us in a difficult situation, but there are bed bugs in the rooms. We asked to move rooms, which was fine, but more bed bugs in the second room. I would avoid this hotel until they get this sorted!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Walson Spa "O" Tel
#114 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#158 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#67 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#43 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#33 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Apple Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Apple Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Apple Boutique Hotel
Address: 9, Sudder Street | Near Free School Street Fire Brigade, Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 436 Specialty Lodging in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Apple Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Apple Boutique Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing