We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Ranked #13 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A friend of my sister suggested I try this property out. She said its new and a good one at that. Turns out, she was right on it being a good one. I got upgraded at no charge and was allowed an early check in for which I ended up paying but in a country where finding a decent hotel is hard, I wouldn't mind it... no charge is better but a good room is more important.

The room was nice and spacious and the room service was good too. Breakfast could definitely be better. Damn that bed was comfortable! Had the deepest sleep in I don't know how many months. I would come back for it :)

Great place to stay especially if you want to be right next to offices of IT firms. Chinese Visa Application Center is close by... walkable distance but I'd not recommend that for the amount of dust flying about. If you take a cab to it, its just 50 bucks... a note so you don't get fleeced the way I did :)

Good hotel. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navdib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 699 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Kolkata during our visit to the city in Feb 2013
This is a luxury business hotel as the name suggests.
Quite practical for executives on work visits.
It was a fairly new hotel then.
Staff was helpful and polite.
We found the food in the restaurant not upto par with other such hotels.
This may have improved since then
Otherwise generally a good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satyamsiva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here during my recent business trip to Kolkata. The location is perfect if your business takes you to the IT hub of Kolkata. I could reach my client's office in 5 minutes. The hotel room though small had all the basic amenities. The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. The room service was prompt and courteous. Breakfast spread was ok; however, the service needs improvement. I also used the hotel gym which is rather small and has limited equipments. Check in/out and airport drop was efficient. Overall my stay was comfortable and value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinjay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed there for a night. The rooms are quite small, but was clean and well done. There was only a small window so ventilation was poor. The dinner and breakfast was average, but the service was poor in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with large windows. In some rooms there is a wall behind the curtain and not a window...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndcdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here as my office was in the same area.Also I booked this hotel because its a fairly new hotel. Even though the rooms are nicely done up the size of the room in which i was staying was quite small as compared to other hotels.The staff always looks confused whenever you ask them anything.Breakfast was ok not much choice.Service also need to improve. For the price i paid i would expect more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ag2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very warm and courtious service from door step to room and restaurent.
Food had variety. nutrituion, taste and cooked and placed with aesthetic sense.
The room was excellant with all amenities and beutiful furniture and fittings and the lighting was class.
Full glass window helped to have sight of splendid sunrise and the growing new city glimses.
Very satisfying and soulul experience

Sukumar and Meenalochani
29.11.2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APPU112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days and had the worst experience ever, the rooms were very old, amenities in the rooms were not upto the mark, few channels in the tv had lot of grains, i also had hot water problems in the room,the food quality also need improvement. in totally the hotel needs improvement in all fields be it hygiene quality of ameneties and variety of foods. I really had a very bad experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pushpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
369 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,666 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#11 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip
#4 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
385 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel

Address: Sector - V Dm 2 | Salt Lake, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700091, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $75 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monotel is a Luxury Business Hotel, Located in the IT Hub of Kolkata. Being an Eco friendly hotel, Monotel is an environmentally conscious hotel that has heralded a new standard of environmental responsibility in the hospitality industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing