We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget place, does the job”
Review of Hotel Paragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paragon
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A basic backpacker accommodation near Sudder Street. Nothing special about it, it's a cheap (double rooms between Rs 270 and Rs 400) and safe place. Bed linens and toilets/baths are just fine and there is always hot water. The manager is a little indifferent, so don't go here if you're looking for a place with an atmosphere.

Around the corner is the main tourist area: Sudder Street. For breakfast you can go to one of the many touristy restaurants around there which are ok and not that expensive or if you're looking for some nice "poori and sabdji" go to New Market, there are some good and extremely cheap places.

We stayed in the Paragon for a week and as a base that we almost exclusively used too sleep it was perfect.

Room Tip: Consider one of the rooms in the upper floor if you want to be able to easily dry you laundry outsid...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maximilian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm a budget solo traveller, Rs 250-400 per night is about my bracket. So I looked in several places along the Sudder Street and Stuart Lane area, and when I came to Paragon I just thought 'this will do'.

The staff were very friendly: there was no 'yes friend which country you want room 300 rupees hello friend', which cannot be said of many other places in this area. It's in a fairly tucked away part of Sudder Street, and near several good restaurants (the one directly opposite has a/c and free wi-fi) and internet cafes, and it seemed a very safe place to stay.

I opted for a 350 rupees/night attached room, having been shown the non-attached rooms downstairs which looked very dingy. My room had peeling walls covered in travellers' graffiti, and the bathroom was dark and not particularly clean. But it did have character, on the whole: the messages from travellers of all kinds made interesting reading, and if you stay in room 35 you'll see messages from me on the mirror and above the right-hand bed. Speaking of which, the bed was comfy by Indian standards.

It has a nice courtyard area for boarders to sit and read, write and talk. Again, it wasn't clean and the chairs were either broken or breaking, but I didn't spend too much time there.

Smaller details: the electricity worked 24/7, even in a huge thunderstorm. The ceiling fan was excellent. Bring your own padlock, sheet and toilet roll. You can buy ice-cold bottled water from behind the counter. Payment is daily, which I like because you don't have to commit to staying a certain number of days. Also, on checking out you can leave your luggage there until your onward journey, free of charge.

Overall, Paragon Hotel will not let you down if you want a comfy bed, a cold shower, and a convenient base to explore Kolkata. If it's luxury you're after, however, keep looking.

Room Tip: Upstairs is your best bet - the ground floor is very dark and gloomy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfcharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Honestly, this place is filthy. But if you want a two bed room with it's own bathroom for 400 rupees located at Sudder St, this place is for you. The staff are friendly, the place is reasonably secure (bring your own lock!), and the electricity works. Bring your own sheet, too! This is India, this is Kolkata, and you're in the heart of it. Filthy, but cheap and honest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kvinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Aimery90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agathe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanio66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#175 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#51 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashreen Guest House
Ashreen Guest House
#59 of 346 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Guest House
Sunflower Guest House
#26 of 346 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Afridi International Guest House
Afridi International Guest House
#134 of 454 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
22 reviews
11.6 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#22 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paragon

Address: Stuart Lane, Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Also Known As:
Hotel Paragon India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing