We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying with friends and family”

Hotel Shams International
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Shams International
Ranked #196 of 357 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Staying at hotel shams was like staying with long lost cousins. The owner is funny and helpful, his two twin sons don't fall far from the tree and there other workers come and go as if its the family home. The vibe is relaxed, the shams family is so welcoming. Different from anything else I experienced in Kolkatta.

For part of my stay I was very sick the looked after me well.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Growyourgardengreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

What Calcutta landlords know about good accommodation could be written on a postage stamp! The lonely planet uses the phrase; 'a whole new league of nastiness', and for once they've got it right!
After trawling round more than a dozen over-priced dives this place took the prize for best of the worst! The rooms are clean and there's WiFi, it's still overpriced but you'll be hard pushed to find any better for under 600rs around sudder street.
The young man behind the front desk, 'prince', is charming and friendly, unlike the older 'senior manager'. We took one of the hobit rooms on the upper floor (i'm more than 6 foot tall but the corridor and door to the room is 5 foot!), for novelty value it's ok, but without ac and no window I came close to suffocation.
Not sure I'd stay in the same room next time, and despite the excitable boys hanging around, I'd probably stay again because it's a very clean place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thegink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank Mars E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank sharon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, traveled solo
Thank romigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Damien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.7 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#55 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,145 reviews
11.7 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#21 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,224 reviews
1.3 mi away
OYO 867 Marina
OYO 867 Marina
#96 of 357 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
45 reviews
7.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shams International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shams International

Address: 3 Tottie Lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Also Known As:
Hotel Shams International India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing