We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip at Kolkata” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Ranked #14 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kolkata, India
2 reviews
“Business trip at Kolkata”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is very nearby to my Office at Ballygunge therefore it was preferred.The sorrounding and location is not very good. The food quality is very good,but services in form of malfunctioning of TV,washbasin,Study light were not in order.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anurag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    333
    116
    34
    29
See reviews for
135
72
39
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My experience with this hotel was pathetic. The room service, restaurant n the ground staff were very kind and helpful. But the reception staff are the worst people I have ever come across. They never fulfilled my requirement on one call. Were rude and unwilling to help us. The worst they could have done was to refuse me to use their room for 10 mins to feed my six months old baby after checkout. There are much better options available at the price you pay down here. Most imp it's a 2 star hotel. Not a five star which they claim..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Nidhi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjiv m, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge and would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I hereby acknowledge your feedback and truly concerned to know that we couldn’t meet up to your expectation and my sincere apology for the same. We have noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted and we have addressed the issues through our ongoing learning, training initiatives and have refocused on the same immediately. May I assure you that the lapses won’t occur in future and would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.


Your patronage is deeply valued and we all look forward to have you stay at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge on your return visit to Kolkata and I am sure you will have a delightful stay with us enjoying the best of the hospitality & warmth.

Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family. We took the road facing room, which happens to be the East, and we had lovely morning Sunlight flooding our room. The room was clean and spacious. The queen bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping staff are very prompt and polite. The breakfast Was sumptuous but the menu has very limited choice in Continental spread.

Internet wifi connection is good but Connecting more than 2 devices was a challenge.

Trainings in customer service to the front desk staff will help.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing room for early morning Sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!

Thank you for your valuable feedbacks and sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback and have shared the same with the management, the concerned department and the team members.

We highly appreciate your feedback as it will help us becoming better at what we do.
It is our goal to retain you as a satisfied guest and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Neetu Ahluwalia
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel is close to the main market area. That is the plus point of this hotel. The staff is good. But in the back area of hotel, when you open the window, you see old, deserted building, which is really scary.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sajjad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjiv m, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge” Kolkata and would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Our hotel location and proximity to the business houses, offices and places of interest make it ideal choice for corporate, business travellers & tourists. Along with the appreciation note for the staff we have also noted your concern for the old buildings visible which will soon be demolished and entire place will have a new look.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge”.

Best Wishes,


Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Good value for your money. Its nice to see a hotel this good at such low price in Kolkata. Some details

1. Location. google 'Park plaza Ballygunj, kolkata' and it takes you straight to the hotel's webpage. Alternatively, trip advisor is a good resource. approx. 1.5 hours by taxi from the airport during peak hours. taxi fare approx. INR 400 in non-ac taxis and INR 1300 in an AC taxi (as on 14th June 2014). The later is a better option given the horrid weather n pollution condition. The hotel is located in a domestic surrounding and not easily traceable through navigation GPRS due to the intricate lanes and by-lanes … that is kolkata. However , the best landmark that most taxi drivers would know is Pantaloon, the clothes superstore .

2. Check-In. I arrived at 23:30 hrs and the receptionist took approx. 2 mins. to get me sorted and handed over the room key with all details. As my reservation for 4 nights was already paid, the check -in was swift and courteous. All boxes ticked. The check-out can be extended upto 13:00 hrs relative to 11:00 hrs as per the hotel rule. The elevator requires the room key to operate. ..Swipe and then press floor. The hotel has good security systems. The lobby is pretty spacious with high ceiling and enough seating space.

3. Room: Clean, good aircon and firm bed. Stuff that matters the most. Smoking & non-smoking room available, please request during check-in. The wifi worked decently and all facilities including bathroom kit, tea-coffee, 2 water bottles (complimentary), safe, minibar with beverages and snacks, a study table and single sofa, ironing facility and a tele with 241 channels approx. that works fine. half of the 'Superior' category rooms are carpeted. The washroom is neatly tiled. Lighting in the room may be a little dim at times. However, the housekeeping needs to vacuum clean the carpet more efficiently ....Would request hotel admin to look into the hygiene condition as some people may have dust-allergy. The bed could feel somewhat firm for some but personally i liked it...no backaches or discomfort after a good night sleep.

4. Washroom. Spacious, tidy and well ventilated. Hot and Cold water available. In mine, i did not have a power shower but the flow was decent enough.
.

5. Restaurants. The hotel has two in-house restaurants, one at the terrace including a bar, which is indeed good for a buddy chat or for a more personal chat but the humidity or rains could be a spoiler. The restaurant is open air and has two small sized pools ... mainly for kids. The other restaurant is inside seating serving ala-carte Continental, Indian and Thai cuisines. Bar facility is provided. In -Room dinning is also provided ...bit delayed though.

6. Staff/ HKP / . Every staff is trained to be courteous. Room service is very prompt. I requested a room clean before going to the breakfast at around 7am... half an hour, upon return and was impressed.

7.Nearby Attractions: its all the same depending on the proximity... google /trip advisor 'Kolkata attractions' you need to go out and grab a taxi and scout through the city's busy streets. Do not miss the street food, ask the locals.


Overall, a good hotel...knocking to be at a 4 star rating, but certainly for a short a long stay, value for the money. Give it a go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whistlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at Park Plaza in June 2014. It is a part of the Raddison Group of Hotels or the Carlson group. The infrastructure is excellent and the location central. The check-in procedure was good and speedy. The hotel agreed to change my room within minutes when asked.

The breakfast spread is wonderful but the staff is so indifferent that I couldn't believe that it was a hotel of Park Plaza's caliber. During the buffet lunch there was no one to serve or attend to us. The staff was also chatting outside the restaurant! Shocking! And being an upmarket restaurant, one prefers more than this kind of an attitude.

The reception at times could get really unprofessional. When asked about the Spa details, they would ask you questions like, are you a guest here - what is your room number? I found this very strange on their part. And of course, they had no information to offer. When the receptionist called to give basic information, she still could not answer vital questions!

The hotel management was also prompt and helpful in securing taxi services for us.

The duty officer knew about my outrage and called in to take a detailed input from me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lata I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good location . Check in , Courtesy of the staff , ambience , Quality of rooms , Check out - all should get 4 out of 5. Breakfast menu is 3 out of 5 . Breakfast services is not professional and should be rated around 1.5 out of 5 and needs to be improved immediately.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank subhomay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Regards

Neetu Ahluwalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.2 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
5.8 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Property: Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Address: 17 1'st Lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza boasts 92 well-appointed hotel rooms in Kolkata, comprised of 86 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Executive Rooms (interconnected with Deluxe Rooms), 1 handicap-accessible room and 3 Suites. All rooms feature crisp, modern decor and luxury amenities like complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access, automated lights, 42" LCD TVs and laptop safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing