We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in the Heart of Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Ranked #15 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
333 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hotel in the Heart of Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a stopover holiday to Bhutan, since my flight to Bhutan was early in the morning I was forced to stay overnight in Kolkatta, This property is situated just off a busy road in Ballygaunge. Hotel is a 3-4 month old property which is almost ready and is a cute hotel. The rooms are very clean and neat. Bath room is also quite spacious and good. The Breakfast spread was also good. The hotel did provide complimentary Wifi in the room. The hotel is very close to couple of shopping malls and Birla Mandir. For people looking for Veg Food Haldirams & Govinda's(ISCKON) is just a short distance away.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the views of the buildings on the side, did not find any room with any great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARUN63512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mr Arun,

Greetings of the day!!!

It was great to read the positive comments about our hotel and the services offered to you. This valuable comment made us feel proud to be a part of Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge.

Our constant endeavor is to innovate ourselves and offer something new to our guest. Our team is continuously making the effort to exceed expectations and bring the edge service.

We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel when your travel brings you to The City Of Joy.

Warm Regards

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    331
    116
    34
    29
See reviews for
135
72
39
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the Park Plaza for one night. It has all the facilities of a larger 5 star hotels, but in a smaller and more friendly, less ostentatious package. The rooms are decent and clean with comfortable beds and has free wifi in the rooms for guests.

You get the feeling that all international chain hotels follow a similar formula: high ceiling lobby with some fancy 'feature', buffet breakfast with cheese to be found somewhere, bottles of shower gel/shampoo/body scrub/soap or whatever all labelled with impossibly small writing, tv remote control with slightly flat batteries. Park Plaza has all this too so if you normally stay at a Marriott/Hyatt/Hilton you'll feel right at home, but the thing that makes this place stand out from all others is the quality of how they treat their guests.

Anyone can smile and open a door. The true test of customer service shows in how an issue is resolved. There was a minor hiccup on the airport pickup that I thought I had arranged, but probably hadn't, and the staff at the hotel handled it superbly. Not once was there even a suggestion that I could have been at fault. The problem was very quickly and effectively addressed and the duty manager, who called me personally whilst I was in the airport taxi on the way to the hotel, ensured that the very minor, and quite possibly self-inflicted, inconvenience was more than made up for.

The Park Plaza more than exceeded my expectations. I will most definitely stay here again, I just wish that work brought me up to Kolkata more often.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor as you may get a view - 4th floor on one side looks at a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatter10-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to note that the entire team at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge could meet your expectations during your recent stay. The whole team at the hotel just aims to ensure that we provide the best in class service to our valued guests and it is really delightful to note that we could make your experience the best.

we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit again and assure you of an even more memorable stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had been to this newly opened hotel in a very busy and moderately upscale locality in Kolkata. The locality is as congested as Kolkata is reputed to be, but the quality of the hotel layout and interiors is excellent. We had been to one of the new restaurants K19 and were welcomed warmly. The food was superb.
But what made me feel humiliated and consequently disgusted was the management's most uncivil behavior at the end. The food served was too much in quantity for the two of us. So we requested that the food be packed so that we could take it home. It was not a buffet service. The management declined and did not even care to convey this decision by a manger but via the waiter who was waiting on us. This is atrocious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhruba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello There

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygungel!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time with us and specially the hospitality and the quality of food. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests.

I have also shared your concern with team that you were not happy with the service of K19,we believe that the guest must be happy at all times. Unfortunately for us, we did not meet expectations and were not able to delight you during your dinner.

Having said that, I would still request that we be given an opportunity to redeem ourselves and demonstrate that this is NOT a true reflection of our services standards.

Look forward to welcome you back at our hotel sooner.

Warm Regards

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Its a perfect business hotel located in Gariahat area near to Ballygunge. It boasts of 5 dining options, an outdoor pool and a spa. It also features a gym, business centre and complimentary Wi-Fi access to its guests. It is the first Carlson group hotel opened in Kolkata.

The staff is courteous, willing to help always. Spread of buffet breakfast is vast and enjoyable to eat. Rooms are modern with all the facilities required. I usually stay here during my business visits & is a perfect fit for business come pleasure hotel. One can also get a good rate if booked at right time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank preekshitgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Mr.Gupta,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge on your recent trip.Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We, at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, seek to transform every aspect of our guest's stay into a revitalized experience and are delighted to learn you had a positive experience throughout. We could not be happier to know that you were impressed with the décor, upkeep, rooms, food spread, service areas as well as the overall ambience of our property.

Thank you for your kind appreciation and we look forward to welcoming you to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge when your travel brings you back to this great city.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a new Hotel for the CITY OF JOY..PARK PLAZA was at every big City Across India and now its in KOlkata...The location of this hotel is very nice and the ambiance is awesome.The food quality in this hotel is very good.We have been to this hotel for a business meeting and I like the place very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

Thank you very much for taking time out to review us. It has been indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. I personally thank you for the motivating review that you have given us.

We will continue to strive our best to ensure our guests have a great experience with us

Once again thank you for your time and looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Well frankly speaking I wasn't too excited when my girl recommended me to Hotel Park Plaza as I have always checked in to properties like Hyatt , Taj and Marriotts if they are available in a particular city where I am travelling. Inspite of my reluctance I did book with Hotel Park Plaza , Calcutta for two nights , i.e. April 7th 2013 and April 8th 2013 as it was more convinient for my girl as this was ideally located and saved her transport time.

I was pleasantly surprised to have a Rented Car ( as was arranged earlier at a cost ) receive me. What I was thinking to myself was , why did the hotel not have a Complimentary Pick Up and Drop to the Airport for a Customer who has booked a higher category of room.

Nevertheless, I did reach the Hotel on time and I liked the overall ambience and staff hospitality. I was later told that this is a failry new property.

I liked the room as it was spacious and neat and did have a good bathroom !

Certain things weren't upto the mark for example , my brand new Suit was covered with white cotton extracts as I sat on the bed with the pillow to rest !

I partiulary found it funny that the hotel maintains a particular temperature for Hot water supply even though they were constantly reminded that the science doesnot apply when you fill wter in the tub or to use the jacuzzi ! The water went cold before the tub was half filled !

The food was way below what I would call " good food " as for the price you pay , I could have easily dined at a Star Property !

The Hotel Staff are friendly and maintained a warm and patient approach througout my stay ! I particularly would like to mention Rosy , Cassandra and Dibhuti ( sorry if i misspelt your name ). You guys were amazing !! Thank You.

I hate to say this but the Restaurants and Roof Top Bar are pathetic in terms of Service ! You DON'T Serve peanuts with Glenfidditch !!! And certainly NOT CRUSHED ICE !!!

All said and done I would personally like to thank Chirag who was simply amazing ! Chirag , you were the best thing that could happen to this hotel ! You were patient and extended every professional courtesy possible in the Hospitality Industry ! Thanks a ton !

Will keep Checkin to your property soon !

Room Tip: Speak to Rosy or Chirag !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariinss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

Thank you for your patronage to our hotel. We appreciate you spending the time to share your experiences with us and shall surely share your kind words with the team and specially with the names that you have specified . We pride ourselves in offering a personal and instinctive service, and a sensory – rich environment that evokes a feeling of tranquility and well-being. Let me also assure you that I have already shared your concern about the alcohol services and will ensure immidiete improvement.

We forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Enjoyed every bit of our 3days stay here. I would especially mention the staff. We found them extremely helpful, polite and ever smiling. They would go out of the way to help you during breakfast hours and otherwise too. The rooms were spacious, clean and equipped with all modern facilities. Though our room dint offer a view from the window but that was not much of an issue. our stay throughout was very comfortable. I would definitely choose park plaza to stay in whenever i happen to visit Kolkata again. Thanx for being a part of our pleasant memories of the city. Best wishes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello There,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs in this great city.

I sincerely thank you for the wonderful review and appreciate your time.

It was our privilege to have you stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon.

Warm Regards,

Vinay Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.2 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
5.8 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Property: Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Address: 17 1'st Lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza boasts 92 well-appointed hotel rooms in Kolkata, comprised of 86 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Executive Rooms (interconnected with Deluxe Rooms), 1 handicap-accessible room and 3 Suites. All rooms feature crisp, modern decor and luxury amenities like complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access, automated lights, 42" LCD TVs and laptop safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing