We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Ranked #20 of 250 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely a newly constructed hotel, which has just started about a month ago.. All interiors are nicely done using latest technology.. an advance booking will give the right price for a great stay!
One good thing is, as in Kolkata many hotels especially restaurants don't serve lunch all through the afternoon and eve, this hotel is open to that. Also, the location is good to reach major location for shopping.

Room Tip: No great view is particular so any type which suits you the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardik_bhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and we thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.

Warm Regards,

Vinay Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 831 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

An excellent property in the heart of Kolkatta, Centrally located near to Kali Devi Temple(Kalighat), Park Street. Food is fantastic,perfect taste and wide range of choices n healthy Breakfast. Rooms are very comfortable and quite big. I really liked the Hotel Lobby and rooms Corridor as it is well designed and perfectly ambienced all differently from other hotels i visited. It is really amazing...!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varunbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hello There,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and I am delighted to know you had a pleasant stay at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge. Here, we value our guests and work towards providing the best services at all times to ensure a warm, comfortable and memorable stay.
I am extremely delighted to know that you have enjoyed our food and we continue to improve on the quality and also like to thank you for your appreciation on the hotel décor. I will certainly share your feedback with my team

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Vinay Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would attribute most of the issues to teething problems if I have to be generous.

Good:
1) In room dining experience - Decent food and good service.
2) Staff - Courteous and friendly
3) Breakfast spread is alright. Service in the coffee shop is good and on my first day I complained about the extremely overdone bacon and sausages. This was addressed the next day, so that I will rate a positive.

Bad:
1) Designing error - no luggage rack! Had to open the bag on the floor and pack / unpack sitting on the floor!
2) Its a brand new property and the hotel does not seem to have spared any expense in terms of wanting the best furnishing but the sad quality of finishing given to the furnitures / walls / ceiling by the contractor is evident and has already added to the age of the property. The faux leather upholstery had oil stains; bath fittings are Grohe but the health faucet was leaking; table surface, wall paneling are scratched.

Ugly:
1) On the first day, bathroom taps went dry 7 times in the first 12 hours of my stay and I had to call the reception every time to get the water supply started started. On one occasion this was when I was in the middle of my shower!
2) On the second night of my stay I requested for a wake-up call for the following morning. They forgot to call! I overslept and was late for my first meeting.

Room Tip: High floor room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apratim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location is in the center of the marketing hub, but since the road in front is not so wide, it seems to be in a hideout.The external area is well decorated with trees. The lobby is large and very high. The gateman and lobby staff are very polite. The rooms are fairly sized but are equipped with all modern amenities like electrically operated curtain for room and toilet, automatic switching of corridor lights ( at least in one floor). The room service could have been faster. The main restaurant is quite spacious and has a show kitchen. A bar with a large statue of Lord Buddha is in the process of opening. There is a health club with well done interiors and facilities, but it is still to open. The swimming pool on the terrace, once opened ,should be quite thrilling.It would be great fun to be in the open air jacuzzi at the rooftop.The only negative aspect is that there is very little to see outside the rooms since the hotel is surrounded by tall buildings.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the 5th or 6th floor in the row opposite the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandip461d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Mr Sandipan,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests.We thank you for your valuable review and I sincerely appreciate your time for doing so.

It is unfortunate that the room service delivary did not meet your expectations.Please be rest assured that we have already put in corrective measures for the same.


Once again I thank you for your feedback and looking forward to meeting you in person the next time your travel brings you to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge.

Warm regards,

Vinay Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My First Terrible Ratting on Trip Advisor and it went to the hotel where i stayed for 4 Nights from 24th Dec-28th.
Hotel Lobby Neat & Clean Staff Warm & Friendly.
Room Server Horrible and very slow French Fries get ready for this 45 mins not just once 3 times
American Express was not Accepted
Later during the checkout was charged for 4 Lunches which were a part of our hosts itenantry to pay but since there systems were new it didn't allow them to pass the charges and they were forcing me to pay even when I said I will miss my train and my baggage's was loaded in the Inova they made sure they came till my car to embarrass us because there systems did not permit it.
Swimming Pool and other services please check the status as they were under construction.
Horrible experience

Room Tip: City view or no view its pretty much placed in a bad location so dont try looking from the window yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitahuja1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hello There,
Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is very unfortunate that we could not meet your expectations during your recent visit to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge. It is our endeavour to ensure that every guest staying with us has a memorable experience and really enjoys the service and facilities rendered at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, however I do understand that we could have gone a long way in making your stay comfortable.

I want to personally assure you that your feedback would go a long way in improving our services and continuous focussing on the training of our staff.

The entire team at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge joins me in requesting you to experience our hotel one more time and allow us to exhibit how feedback from valued guests like you help us improve our services and eventually guest experience.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.

Warm regards,

Vinay Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

After an initial hesitation, a friend of mine was finally able to convince me to stay at a new hotel. Stayed there on 25,26 and 29th December 2012 and was pleasantly surprised to experience a contemporary hotel at affordable rates. The staff was friendly and courteous, a property has everything a contemporary hotel needs, the floor corridors were specially appealing and the food at the all day dining sumptuous. Unfortunately , i could experience a couple of dining options as they not open as yet. The bar and lounge( not operational at the time of visit) next to the all day dining needs special mention as it looked very inviting and plush interiors and artifacts.

Definitely a promising hotel which compels you to keep coming back.

Room Tip: Try the suites at the end of the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitjain1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, General Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hello There

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygungel!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and we thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.

Warm Regards

Vinay Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Beate-Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM_PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.3 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,159 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,033 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#27 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#36 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
729 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Address: 17 1'st Lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#17 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza boasts 92 well-appointed hotel rooms in Kolkata, comprised of 86 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Executive Rooms (interconnected with Deluxe Rooms), 1 handicap-accessible room and 3 Suites. All rooms feature crisp, modern decor and luxury amenities like complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access, automated lights, 42" LCD TVs and laptop safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing