We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tatvam Residency
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$116
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$74
$64
Swissotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$160
$117
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$161
$132
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$121
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$99
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
184
82
15
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
82
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomhome away from homecommon diningdining tablethree roomssmall poolola cabsbengali thalithe rooms were nicecommon areaspersonalized servicetasty foodfamily staysupport staffairport pickupresidential areamodern facilities
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 289 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I, SHAMIM A. MERCHANT, along with 6 more ladies, came to Kolkata from Mumbai on 31st March 2014. When we booked the rooms from Mumbai, we were afraid about the Service, Hotel & the staff. But it was amazing. As we entered the Hotel, we were immediately relaxed by the reception, staff, Rooms & Cleanliness, which was very very nice, far beyond our expectation. We got Appartment of 3 very spacious ventilated rooms, with big hall. Food was very reasonable, tasty & hygenic. We were offered complimentary Bengali sweets by the kind owner. Personal attention of the owner MRS. SONU AURORA was as a family member. They arranged rent a car, sight seeing tours, cabs for Airport / station, guidance for shopping, etc. We had received much much more than we paid & expected. OUR 3 NIGHTS 4 DAYS STAY WAS A GREAT MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE OF LIFE. NEXT TIME WE SHALL VISIT DIRECTLY WITHOUT SEEING ANY OTHER HOTEL. ALL THE BEST MS. SONU AURORA.

Room Tip: we had a good experience of apartment on the 3rd floor no. 3011
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aju999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TatvamResidency, Owner at Tatvam Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Ms Shamim,

Thank you so much for your positive comments! We all at Tatvam, feel very motivated after reading your wonderful review. I'm glad that we could help you out with your shopping and sight seeing and we are pleased that you liked the Apartment, food and the services. We look forward to having all of you with us on your next holiday to Kolkata!

Best Regards
Sonu Arora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were really made to feel at home by Sam and his team. The facilities were very good an the service was great! We would definitely come and stay again! We found it great that the hotel organises tour guides and tours around the city at reasonable rates!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ataylor011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TatvamResidency, Owner at Tatvam Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Adrian,
Thank you for such a nice review!! Sam and the entire team will be so happy to know that their efforts were recognized and appreciated. I'm glad that you enjoyed your guided tour around the city.
We hope you travel to Kolkata soon!
Best wishes to you and Wesley.
Sonu Aora
tatvamresidency@yahoo.co.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Clean, neat comfortable rooms, good food of ample quantity, reasonable prices.

They help with sight seeing plan and arrange for transport.

Friendly staff.

Safe place for a lady travelling alone.

The dining facility is quite good.

Even though people say it is far off it takes only 25 or 30 minutes to reach any place from the hotel and cabs charge Rs.100 to Rs.150. Also while returning to the hotel at the end of the long day, one can call the hotel front desk and ask them to help give directions to the cab driver - that way it becomes easy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUK404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TatvamResidency, Owner at Tatvam Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Sukanya,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! It feels rewarding to know that you liked the rooms, food and that you found your stay to be value for money. You , being a lone lady tourist, I'm glad you felt safe and comfortable. We too enjoyed guiding you around the city. Hope to host you on your future visits to Kolkata.
Best Wishes
Sonu Arora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed here with my wife on my way to Sundarbans. The stay was quite nice. The hotel amenities were quite good. The concept of a shared living room was different, yet nice. The hotel owner was very warm towards us, right from giving directions on reaching the place. The locality in which the hotel is, doesn't inspire confidence at all, however, the hotel itself is very good. The food there was very tasty, and we were offered complimentary Bengal sweets by the kind owner.
We also used the hotel taxi service for roaming around the city. A word of caution here would be to check about the exact rates and timings. Unlike other cities, where an additional 15 km are calculated for office-pick up point, here they cut 60 minutes instead of 15 km. Not knowing this, we ended up paying extra for the taxi and this left a feeling of cheating in us. However, upon bringing this up with the owner, she listened to us, and offered a solution. Kudos to her for that.
That apart, the hotel is really nice. The rooms are small but perfect for a stay of a night or two. The staff is very courteous and friendly. Overall, a very memorable stay here :-)

Room Tip: A higher floor would help, and so would a room not facing the road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TatvamResidency, Owner at Tatvam Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Mr Tambe,

Thank you so much for your gracious comments! I am happy to know that you liked the concept of our property, the services as well as the food.I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the car rental rates, but in Kolkata , our service provider charges us on an hourly basis from garage to garage. I'm glad that you brought this to my notice and we could work things out. It feels good to know that you had a memorable stay!
Best Regards
Sonu Arora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

it is a nice experiences, anyway,it's location a little remote, keep their contact number. when the taxis driver doesn't know exactly where the hotel is. it is easier for you to contact them, and tell the driver how to get there. you can ask them for everything , their service is excellent, and don't hesitate to ask. the location is in a alley of street, because not facing the street and having about 50 meters from main street, so at night it is very quite, no noise. thanks to all hotel people , you all give me a good memory. i will come back to visit you. by the way, try to taste some local food, walking out of the hotel and turn right and about 50 meter away ,there are foodstands, enjoying the chicken roll and mutton noodle, yes the food is cheap and Delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tysonchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TatvamResidency, Owner at Tatvam Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Mr Huang Shun,

Thank you for taking out time to write your feedback of Tatvam! We are glad that you enjoyed the services and stay at Tatvam and we feel happy to know that your overall experience was memorable. It would be a pleasure to host you on your next trip to the 'City of Joy'.

Best Wishes
Sonu Arora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews