We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Seriously Sloppy Service”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #98 of 4,209 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Infusing the flavours of indigenous Indian cuisine with modern ingredients, Saffron is the harmonious blend of the east and the west - a modern pan Indian restaurant with a tastefully cosmic ambient decor
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Food, Seriously Sloppy Service”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family our 6 wanted a quick dinner on a very busy Park Street on Christmas and we just walked into Saffron at The Park, hoping there wouldn't be too many takers for an indian dinner on a Christmas night. We were right and got a table the moment we walked in, there were in all about 4 tables occupied. We felt nice and relieved but that is where it ended.

there was a huge wine list and 2 of the wines we asked for were not available, this offcourse was intimated to us after 10 minutes of "I will just check". We chose another wine which after another round of "I will check" was not available, finally we asked them to let us know what was available and they came up with a couple of options, since we had never tasted those before we requested the bottles to be brought to the table, and after another 10 minutes we were told only one of those options were available, about 40 minutes had passed in this " I will check " business and frustrated we settles for whatever wine was served which was not too good for the price we paid.

Assuming our bad luck would end with the wine order, we wanted to order some scotch after finding exotic drink n food pairing suggestions on the menu but alas most of that was also not available. I wonder why have a farcical 10 page menu when you can just hand out a one pager to guests for whats actually available.

thankfully most of the food we ordered tasted good, except for the "daal" which they forgot about....

thankfully after the one hour frustrating "I will check" session the food was acceptable else it would have not got any stars at all.

pls pls do update your menu and your service

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guddi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at Saffron, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you liked the food at Saffron.

We look forward to your next visit to Saffron!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“Better place to have food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a better place to have food, with especially family. The portions are adequate & the use of spices are well balanced as well. Good to be served by courteous staffs. Will visit again...Thanks & Happy New year..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raju-kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at Saffron, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you liked the food at Saffron.

We look forward to your next visit to Saffron!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
1 review
“Memorable dining experience”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I would say the main objective of having a good food has been fulfilled at Saffron restaurant of the Park Hotel . Im back in Kolkata after 18 year, had a wonderful bengali food suggested by the Soave people of the restaurant. Thanks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sudip_sinha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at Saffron, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you liked the food at Zen.

We look forward to your next visit to Zen!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food & Good Team”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

All the meals served to me at the Saffron was really very tasty and good. The restaurant manager Mr Saurabh would always endeavour to make the visit interesting. His team including Avinash is highly motivated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at Saffron, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your appreciative comments. My team at the kitchen are happy to know your feedback.

Look forward to your next visit to Saffron soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“Pretty happy.....”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Undoubtedly one of the best restaurants in town. Go for the pizza, its mouthwatering And if you are a diehard non vegetarian then do not forget to order for the mixed grill platter... Go ahead and enjoy!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at Saffron, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to know your positive comments and look forward to your next visit to Saffron soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing