We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untrained staff”
Review of Casa Kitchen

Casa Kitchen
Ranked #92 of 4,286 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casa Kitchen is the talk-of-the-town Vegetarian Restaurant of Kolkata today and is located on the first floor of Hotel Casa Fortuna. Our concept hovers around 'Vegetus' which means full of vitality, vigour and cheer. Our philosophy is based on excellence and discretion, with an aim to satisfy the taste of every guest and honoring them with the most impeccable personalized service and attention.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had chosen to throw a party at your restaurant on 29th of march 2013 as it was my son's first birthday. I had already visited your restaurant thrice before and knew the food is excellent over here. I made a call on 28th evening and asked the concerned staff whether you take aadvance bookings or not, he said yes and i told him to book a table for 20 pax in the name of Siddharth at 8 pm on 29.03.2013, Friday. Next day i.e. 29th of march 2013 i called in the afternoon say around 2pm and told your concerned staff that i am calling to re confirm whether the table i had booked for 20 people for today evening 8pm is written in their books or not. I got a yes sir reply from your side.

and to my surprise when i reached the restaurant at 8:15pm i am being told that there is no such booking in the name of siddharth for 29.03.2013. after arguing it was finally found that there was a booking but your illiterate staff had booked the same for 30.03.2013.

it was such a humiliating moment for me as all my 20 guests were standing in front of me and i was shouting on the top of my voice for such a big mistake from your side. after shouting and arguing alot we were given 02 rooms to wait till the time the tables can be arranged for us.

my only advice to you is to make it a point the staff taking the bookings is well versed with hindi or english or bengali so that this mistake is not repeated again.

secondly no doubt in it that we used some of the snacks kept in the rooms, but that was we had to do so as you guys had committed the mistake and we had to wait for the tables to get arranged. if i go through the MRP of the snacks we ate, i doubt we ate for more that Rs 200-400.

at teh end when the bill came i thought as agesture you would give some discount to me, but you didn't. instead when told i got a answer that the rooms were given complimentary to us and the snax we ate was made free.

let me remind you the rooms you gave was to cover your mistake which your staff committed, so whats a big deal in that. and for the snax we ate, as i told earllier if i o by the MRP max we ate is for Rs 200-400. i am not interested in seeing the price chart you kept there for each item. for example we ate a packet of salted kaju which you have priced for Rs 80/- per packet, but according to me the original cost for the same is not more that Rs 40/- per packet.

so i am disappointed and would like to advice you that when some mistake is committed you sould compensate it with some good returns and not the way i got it from you.

lastly, i think though i did not get a discount from you at that time but now atleast you sould send some say 02 or 03 signature dishes form your side to my home address so that it justifies your mistake.

looking forward to get a call or reply from your end at the earliest.

Siddharth Mehta
9830236977

    • Food
1  Thank Siddharth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWARUP_12, General Manager at Casa Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Mehta,

We thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you due to an inane misunderstanding regarding the date of the reservation for the first birthday party of your son.

We investigated the issue with our staff and would like to inform you that the snacks in the room were complimentary. In the same note, since you are one of our most loyal customers, we have also been happy to send you our signature dishes for you to enjoy.

Once again, we regret for any inconvenience caused to you and hope you will take this as a onetime incident. We would also keep you posted on the various food festivals that we would have in the forthcoming months. We look forward to serving you again at our multi-cuisine restaurant, Casa Kitchen at Hotel Casa Fortuna, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Swarup Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although we are die hard non-vegetarians,we decided to try this vegetarian restaurant and were pleased by the food.We had to wait for sometime since there were no vacant tables on an overcrowded Sunday evening.We waited in the lounge and soon they called us.The Dahi ke Kabab is delicious and at the same time a refreshing veg Kabab.The Pudina Paratha was a little disappointing as it didn't have much of a taste of Pudina.Apart from that the Vegetable Lasagna was wonderful and just loved it.Great mocktails with distinct flavours of its constituents.A veg joint worth a visit..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twinklyanoushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWARUP_12, General Manager at Casa Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for dining at our restaurant and sharing your experience on this public forum. We strive to please all palates and it has made us very happy to know that you enjoyed our vegetarian delicacies.

Casa Kitchen is a purely vegetarian restaurant that is popular among both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. Promoting “Go Green” concept, our team prepares dishes that are tasty, fresh and healthy. We are glad that you liked our dexterously prepared food items. Please try our large selection of desserts, such as mud pie or blueberry cheese cake, on your next outing. Please be informed that our menu also features a wide range of International Cocktails and Mocktails. Don’t miss out on the adventurous fire doused Flaming Lamborghini and B52 from the Cellar Selection of Casa Kitchen.

We regret that you had to wait for a table. However, to avoid this, you can mail us at fbm@casafortunahotel.com or call us at +91 33 4021 8050 / 51 and make your reservations. Once again, we thank you for dining at our multi-cuisine restaurant in Kolkata, and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
Swarup Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It has the best veg food.the ambience is great,service was excellent.its a nice place for family outing.it serve buffet breakfast in the morning.basically you can go over there at anytime between 7 A.M. to 9.45P.M.would like to visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank parveen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWARUP_12, General Manager at Casa Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us and giving a five-star rating in all departments. Our associates and the chef at our multi-cuisine restaurant are delighted to receive your positive feedback.

Casa Kitchen Restaurant & Bar, located on the first floor of Hotel Casa Fortuna, is a popular vegetarian restaurant in Kolkata. Our chef at the Kitchen is adept at churning out delicious delicacies that delights even the most discerning palates. Perfect for both formal and informal dining, our restaurant boasts of an elegant as well as cozy décor. Guests can select from our menu that features an elaborate selection of ethnic and international fare.

We are delighted to have you as our patron and look forward to hosting you again. We also take this opportunity to inform you that you can mail us at fbm@casafortunahotel.com or call us at +91 33 4021 8050 / 51 for reservations.

Warm Regards,
Swarup Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

For a hard core non-vegetarian to appreciate a veg joint, is something dpevial.

I had dinner at the Casa Kitchen, which is about 100 meters from HHI.

The food was good, the ambience warm and the service was very prompt. The restaurant is a veg restaurant with a bar attached.

We ordered some yellow dal, chole, pulav and curd. Must admit the preparation was truly beyond our expectations.

My verdict...great place for veg food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alvaressunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWARUP_12, General Manager at Casa Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for dining at our restaurant and letting us know of your pleasant experience. It brings us immense pleasure to know that our service, food and ambience were worthy of your appreciation. Our team at the restaurant strives to serve all palates and your positive feedback has made them very happy.

Casa Kitchen Restaurant & Bar is a centrally located multi-cuisine restaurant that offers guests scrumptious Indian, continental and Chinese cuisine. With the focus on “Go Green” concept, our chef endeavors to provide healthy and hearty cuisines to our patrons. Our menu also features a wide range of international cocktails and mocktails. We would request you to try our adventurous fire doused Flaming Lamborghini on your next visit.

We thank you again for dining at our restaurant and would be delighted to serve you again. We also want to apprise you that you can mail us at fbm@casafortunahotel.com for reservation.

Warm Regards,
Swarup Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food was awesome... :)
Atmosphere is so pleasant... :)
Love to visit once again... :)
Will share the good experiance with other frinds and will refer them to visit once in future... :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amarjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWARUP_12, General Manager at Casa Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for dining with us and sharing your experience about our services on this public forum and amongst your friends. Your positive feedback has inspired us to heighten our standards in guest satisfaction.

Casa Kitchen Restaurant & Bar is a multi-cuisine restaurant, located on the first floor of Hotel Casa Fortuna, Kolkata. Our restaurant boasts of elegant décor and warm ambience, making it perfect for a family outing as well as corporate dining. With our focus on “Go Green” concept, we offer patrons a wide range of healthy and delicious vegetarian delicacies. We also offer an assortment of refreshing drinks and desserts. Guests can indulge their sweet tooth with our delicious and fresh chocolate mud pie or blueberry cheese cake.

We are glad that you enjoyed dining with us and would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Please let us know your next visit with your family and friends, so that we can plan an exotic menu for you. For reservations, you may please mail us at fbm@casafortunahotel.com or call us at +91 33 4021 8050 / 51

Warm Regards,
Swarup Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Kitchen also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Casa Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing